Skip to Content

RM 4,999.00

(MYR Inc. GST)
6

3.8 based on 6 customer reviews

2
2
1
1
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

I love it - really pleased with my purchase

128GB 08 August 2016 by royw (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Runs on Android – no learning curve I’m a fan of high resolution audio, and the last few mobile phones I’ve bought have all been Sony because of this. If you’ve used their Walkman/Music app on a Sony phone then you’ll recognise the app on the NW-ZX2; it’s basically the same, running on an old version of Android. I have read some people complain that the Android isn’t the latest, but it doesn’t need to be – this is a music player first and foremost and the old Android is just fine (and doesn't have all the memory-card 'security' of later versions of Android that can cause problems for some apps to access your micro-SD). I run Apex launcher so I can have a full-screen widget for Music as my home page – everything else is just a slide right. Solid build quality – like a tank If you are a kinaesthetic-type person you will love the NW-ZX2, its quirky shape and heavy solid build is great to hold – you won’t want to put it down. It fits easily in a jeans back pocket so perfect for portability. The control buttons down the side are easy to find without looking. Loud enough – no amp required The point of this player is that it’s a quality audio source with enough umphh to be portable – it powers my MDR-1A headphones easily, and with my Bose noise-cancelling ear-buds the music still sounds superb and can be loud enough to be uncomfortable. That’s why I bought this player – I usually use a separate headphone amplifier when listening to music from my phone, but none required with the NW-ZX2 when I am travelling (which I do a lot of). In the Sony store they always have the player demoed with massive Sony headphone amplifiers, but in my opinion they are not portable and not required. Plenty of storage – and MediaGo MediaGo is the Windows app from Sony (free download) that lets you manage the tunes on your NW-ZX2. It’s easy to use and quick to upload all your hi-res music onto either the built in storage or a slotted-in extra micro-SD card – but not simultaneously, you need to select on the player which storage area will be accessible by the USB cable. When you upload, MediaGo automatically sorts and structures your folders by artist and album name. Music quality – yes For a portable device this delivers great, great sound. The best I've ever heard from something that can carry 300Gb of tunes in my pocket. A bit expensive - would I recommend it? Absolutely

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Really disappointing internal memory

128GB 26 August 2016 by clipper79 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago. I was really happy to get something which runs on Android and the ability to listen to my Spotify library, as well as flac files. But don't be fooled. The device splits it's overall 128GB that it says it has into 1.97GB internal storage and 113 system storage. So if you are thinking of running your Spotify library offline, think again. It quickly takes up all 1.97GB of this space. Which begs the question to be asked next, why bother with an android platform?Unless you have an extensive library of flac files, then this device is for you. The sound that it produces with the Sony XBA-A3 hires earbuds produces really sweet sounds. Flac files plays well and every detail in the sound can be enjoyed fully. Full bass and detailed highs. Battery life is also satisfactory, as i only need to charge it every week, with about 3-4 hours of play time everyday during my daily commute. It's expandable memory to about 128GB sd card is also sweet. Which means plenty of music. If you have them. I just wish Sony will not limit this internal storage in the next model, or offer a firmware upgrade to overcome this, as this 1.97GB is rather annoying.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

6 Customer Reviews

0

A very solid build device with great sound

NW-ZX2 16 August 2017 by ahtiang (Malaysia)

I bought the ZX2 as an upgrade from A17 and immediately I noticed the difference in sound quality. Build as a tank for this ZX2 with meticulous details. However the only drawback is the Android OS which comes with ZX2 is pretty old at JellyBean which crippled the Spotify to use the internal storage of 128GB nor the external microSD. Appreciate Sony would really take the step up to update the OS to enable the storage to be use entirely and not capped at 2GB only for Spotify. Direct FLAC or other MP3 songs from microSD 128GB or the internal storage works like a charm. Overall I would recommend this product if you are not planning to stream music via Spotify or Tidal in offline mode as the memory you can use to store offline is merely at 2GB. If you have a bunch load of MP3s or FLAC or any sort of media which you can load it into a microSD, this is the device which will drive the pleasure sounds out. Cheers!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great music machine, poor OS

128GB 01 February 2017 by Oelie (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

No doubt the best music machine around if you enjoy HiRes quality music!! Not by a mile! However, for that price Sony can do better than Android Jelly Bean and all the annoying apps that come with it from Google and others. Feels just cheap and doing injstice to the hardware, the look and feel of an otherwise excellent product! Sony, plse do something about that poor Android OS - really!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Awesome SQ, Premium quality

128GB 13 October 2016 by I heart Sony (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Do expect an extremely well built and extremely premium quality product from Sony. Well if you think this DAP is for show only? Think again. the DAP deliver awesome sound quality as well. Expect to hear things you have never heard before in those songs you frequently listened to. Definitely is a huge improvement over the 1st gen ZX1 which i sold right after i bought this ZX2.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Fantastic sound qualities

128GB 29 August 2016  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

ZX2 gives premium sound quality. Plug in a part of matching earphones and i can immediately hear the clarity and details not heard of from other devices. This is the device for you if sound quality if your concern and you want the best. The only complain is the 2GB internal memory that limits the number of songs that can be downloaded to the devices unless you root and link it to SD for your Andriod.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Really disappointing internal memory

128GB 26 August 2016 by clipper79 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago. I was really happy to get something which runs on Android and the ability to listen to my Spotify library, as well as flac files. But don't be fooled. The device splits it's overall 128GB that it says it has into 1.97GB internal storage and 113 system storage. So if you are thinking of running your Spotify library offline, think again. It quickly takes up all 1.97GB of this space. Which begs the question to be asked next, why bother with an android platform?Unless you have an extensive library of flac files, then this device is for you. The sound that it produces with the Sony XBA-A3 hires earbuds produces really sweet sounds. Flac files plays well and every detail in the sound can be enjoyed fully. Full bass and detailed highs. Battery life is also satisfactory, as i only need to charge it every week, with about 3-4 hours of play time everyday during my daily commute. It's expandable memory to about 128GB sd card is also sweet. Which means plenty of music. If you have them. I just wish Sony will not limit this internal storage in the next model, or offer a firmware upgrade to overcome this, as this 1.97GB is rather annoying.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

I love it - really pleased with my purchase

128GB 08 August 2016 by royw (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Runs on Android – no learning curve I’m a fan of high resolution audio, and the last few mobile phones I’ve bought have all been Sony because of this. If you’ve used their Walkman/Music app on a Sony phone then you’ll recognise the app on the NW-ZX2; it’s basically the same, running on an old version of Android. I have read some people complain that the Android isn’t the latest, but it doesn’t need to be – this is a music player first and foremost and the old Android is just fine (and doesn't have all the memory-card 'security' of later versions of Android that can cause problems for some apps to access your micro-SD). I run Apex launcher so I can have a full-screen widget for Music as my home page – everything else is just a slide right. Solid build quality – like a tank If you are a kinaesthetic-type person you will love the NW-ZX2, its quirky shape and heavy solid build is great to hold – you won’t want to put it down. It fits easily in a jeans back pocket so perfect for portability. The control buttons down the side are easy to find without looking. Loud enough – no amp required The point of this player is that it’s a quality audio source with enough umphh to be portable – it powers my MDR-1A headphones easily, and with my Bose noise-cancelling ear-buds the music still sounds superb and can be loud enough to be uncomfortable. That’s why I bought this player – I usually use a separate headphone amplifier when listening to music from my phone, but none required with the NW-ZX2 when I am travelling (which I do a lot of). In the Sony store they always have the player demoed with massive Sony headphone amplifiers, but in my opinion they are not portable and not required. Plenty of storage – and MediaGo MediaGo is the Windows app from Sony (free download) that lets you manage the tunes on your NW-ZX2. It’s easy to use and quick to upload all your hi-res music onto either the built in storage or a slotted-in extra micro-SD card – but not simultaneously, you need to select on the player which storage area will be accessible by the USB cable. When you upload, MediaGo automatically sorts and structures your folders by artist and album name. Music quality – yes For a portable device this delivers great, great sound. The best I've ever heard from something that can carry 300Gb of tunes in my pocket. A bit expensive - would I recommend it? Absolutely

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0