982

4.4 based on 982 customer reviews

605
238
68
31
40
Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

The best Fit by far

WF1000XM4/S 10 June 2021 by Mr B (USA)

I have never had such a great fit of any truly wireless earbuds. These are the first that I do not have to worry about loosing or constantly adjusting while wearing. The sound is also the best that I have had. The phone calls however, is a hit or miss. I'm not some callers complain of a muffled sound. Some don't.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointing product.

WF1000XM4/SME 28 August 2021 by Amrul (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got it when it launch and nightmare start. Intermittent discount while listening to music and doing Team/zoom calls. Voice call is another substandard quality. Voice not clear or uneven between bud, hissing sound. Irritating to hear. Used less than 2 weeks n send to support center. Request to replace a brand new but deny. Made to understand it will repair instead of replace. Major mistake to purchase this.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

0

986 Customer Reviews

0

All good, but this chime

WF-1000XM4 07 August 2022 by MattDanz18 (United Kingdom)

All is great, but a chiming noise every few minutes is driving me crazy Overall a great product.

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just the best in its class!

WF1000XM4/BME 07 August 2022 by Naz06 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this about a month ago and has a hard time putting it away. The battery is just ridiculous, it goes and goes. The sound quality is just superior in comparison to other wireless buds. Just the best pair.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound, easy to handle

WF-1000XM4 07 August 2022 by Guido27 (United Kingdom)

Everything is fine with the earbuds. Sony could provide a greater variery of eartips in my opinion. They are the most important part for feeling comfortable. For me the small size is to small, the medium size a little too much. Some other companies provide a broader variety of tips. Everything else is great.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for ears

WF-1000XM4 06 August 2022  (United Kingdom)

I brought this a month ago , it is very nice for ears

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very good

WF1000XM4/B 06 August 2022 by saviore (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought it a couple of days ago no problems so fare

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06 August 2022

Hi saviore, Great! We are glad to hear you are enjoying our industry-leading, noise-canceling Truly Wireless headphones. We designed these headphones to provide incredible audio performance and take noise cancellation to the next level. You can enjoy crystal clear call quality, even in noisy environments and our speak-to-chat technology automatically reduces volume during conversation. Plus, you can get 8 hour long battery with noise canceling, IPX4 water resistance and easy wireless charging. Thank you for choosing Sony! Erin

0

Exceeded expectations

WF-1000XM4 05 August 2022 by JackR483 (United Kingdom)

Following a lot of research and reading a lot of reviews I decided to purchase these wireless earphones. I previously had a far more expensive pair by Sennheiser which were not as waterproof as suggested - although I cannot fault the quality of sound reproduction. The Sony ear phones are actually far more comfortable to wear in your ears longer term, and whereas a lot of Wi-Fi earphones reproduce music as one big grey blur, with this you can pick out individual instruments, voices, and delivery is crisp with the right level of treble and bass; albeit you can change those on the phone app to suit your listening style. The features are good, and work and are operated simply by tapping on an eardrum. I listen for protracted periods, and the charge never let me down, you can also get about three charges from the case before you need to plug it into a USB for charging. If you are looking for a high quality sound, a comfortable fit, reasonably well priced - certainly one compared with other comparable products- then look no further

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

they go to sleep after 10 min while on call !!!

WF-1000XM4 05 August 2022 by RadM (United Kingdom)

Even though the qulaity of the earplugs is good, they stay in your ear and have cool features like mini magnets, case is charging them, nose cancelling is dicent. it all matters not as they simply wont stay on. They automatically go to sleep regardles if you are on call or listening to music. your phones screen is off for 10 min headphones will go to sleep. Then you have to touch them to wake up, they reconnect and youre back on for the next 10 min. it is of course a software issue. just as with all Sony products always software issues

Performance

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice earphones

WF1000XM4/BME 05 August 2022 by Sc35 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the noise cancelling feature. I also like how I can use touch to switch between the noise cancelling and ambient sound modes. It is very light and easy to bring around. The sad part is the connectivity, sometimes even at a short distance the connectivity is interrupted. Also sometimes when my hair is down it touches the earphones and will trigger my earphones to switch between modes especially when my hair is slightly wet.

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awful earbud tips

WF1000XM4/BME 05 August 2022 by Saiful Buble (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

The earbud tips peeling out like dusty, hope that I can get replacement for that. The sound is super incredible awesome, 4 star for that.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Out of the box

WF-1000XM4 04 August 2022 by Paul973 (United Kingdom)

Easy set up. Sound amazing without any tweaks, looking forward to getting to know them better.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome Product

WF1000XM4/B 03 August 2022 by TBush (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using these nearly non-stop at work since I purchased. The audio is great and the feature suite is unparalleled. They were super easy to set up with my Samsung phone (on par with apples airpods and an iphone). At first one of the buds hurt my ear where the plastic pressed, but it went away after a little bit of wear. Very comfortable one broken in and feel very stable in ear. Overall, very impressed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03 August 2022

Hi TBush,
Thank you for sharing your great experience with us! We're happy to hear your WF1000XM4 suits your needs and expectations. Nice to know you are enjoying the amazing sound quality, features, easy connection of your devices to the unit. We're sorry to hear your discomforts when using the headphones for the first time. and we are glad to know that it is all good now. We designed these headphones to provide incredible audio performance and take noise cancellation to the next level. You can enjoy crystal clear call quality, even in noisy environments and our speak-to-chat technology automatically reduces volume during conversation. Plus, you can get 8 hour long battery with noise canceling, IPX4 water resistance and easy wireless charging. Thanks for choosing Sony! - Kris

0

Good sound, bad connection

WF-1000XM4 01 August 2022 by Tomcat0511 (United Kingdom)

I bought this wireless headset because it was recommended in a couple of tests, but I'm not really satisfied. The setup procedure was long and not easy. Although the sound quality is reasonably good, the bluetooth connection to my iPhone is really lousy. It falls out frequently when I'm walking the streets and has to be manually turned on again. Only on very short distances between device and headset the functionality is okay. I'm considering bringing it back to the dealer with complaint.

Performance

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony support team
03 August 2022

Hi Tomcat0511,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're sorry to learn that your headphones lose the Bluetooth connection.
We recommend following the below steps to resolve the issue:
-Make sure that your headphones are fully charged.
-Make sure they're up-to-date here: https://bit.ly/3lYVGma
-Reset your headphones: https://bit.ly/3sFTWzR
-Initialize them: https://bit.ly/3ipsjGX
0Rest with another phone.
If the issue remains, we would like to be able to offer some assistance, so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Crystal Clear best buds I’ve had….. ever

WF-1000XM4 01 August 2022 by Wagwaf (United Kingdom)

These are the 1st top end In head phone/ear buds I’ve ever had so I’ve nothing really to compare. But they are brilliant, sounds is amazing, clear and when paired with Tidal or other 360 Spatial Audio they are even better. So my previous in ear are the middle range £75 ish. So I looked at all the options and these came out on top, so much better the Apple air pod pro and the beats fit pro. Bit heavy for the gym, but I still use them but I’d be scared to go running and one fall out and smash. So from a new year to the higher end of kit I’d definitely recommend these. The only issue is that you can’t adjust the volume from the headphones but it’s minor

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The only headphones I use with my phone.

WF1000XM4/SME 01 August 2022 by DesignerDave (Thailand) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using these daily until they run out of power for absolutely everything from phone calls and twitter spaces on my phone, to TV shows and my computer. The noise cancelling is top notch, and if you get the fit in your ear just right, the only thing you'll hear is the muffled pitter patter and thunder strikes of a monsoon. These are also the only in-ear headphones I've used where the mic is acceptable for business calls and public presentations on social media.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Godly earphone !!!

WF1000XM4/BME 01 August 2022 by Zaimi67 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I cry everytime i use this device. Eargasm at its best.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quite possibly perfect

WF-1000XM4 31 July 2022 by occasionalstan again (United Kingdom)

OK, I bought these guys after much dithering about replacing my other wireless earbuds by a well known manufacturer that are very, very good. They don't have noise cancelling but have Aptx HD and fit exceptionally well due to the range of foam inserts available. So, to these beauties, first look and they are well packaged in the new Sony recycled minimalist material and packaging. Now this isn't done cheaply but with a bit of environmental awareness and class so it works well and looks good. Out of the box, they feel premium as you would expect for this price tag they come with foam inserts and some silicon ones should you wish. The fit for me is not quite right and Sony need to include more variety of foam tips to accommodate people like me so I have modified them with some from the aforementioned well known manufacturer and oh boy do they fit well now. The sound is fabulous, well spaced and full of detail, listening to high res files from Pink Floyd to Run DMC is an absolute joy. Loads of depth for the live concerts and layers of sound is very good indeed. The noise cancelling is good, not as good as the WH-1000XM5 but they are big over the ear units that tick plenty of boxes but not in this category. They are very comfortable (again possibly due to the modified inserts) and are wearable for hours on end. Loads of nice touches as we've come to expect from Sony with the Headphones app and the little tweaks like 'wind noise reduction' work really well reducing the noise whilst cycling to give you that 'immersed in the music' feel. I know these come in at the £200 mark but honestly feel that the price tag is justified as I can't see myself ever buying another pair again. I have put both of my other wireless headphones up for sale as these will just suit every activity I need them for. Quick charging and the wireless charge is a nice touch. Did I mention the sound...............................wonderful. So my advice would be to dig deep and go for it I really can't see anyone being disappointed once they have tried them, with the only downside being the choice of ear inserts available. Sony, you've got to love them.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great item

WF-1000XM4 31 July 2022 by tmnasn (United Kingdom)

I upgraded from WF 1000 xm3 and these are a big improvement.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not Over-hyped

WF-1000XM4 31 July 2022 by Ray 22 (United Kingdom)

Having read rave reviews of these earphones I decided to go ahead and purchase. Having only previously experienced wired budget ear/headphones I had high expectations, initially, I was a little underwhelmed on several levels but, after exploring the various features, performance and the associated app since purchase 2 weeks ago I have been converted and am now no longer underwhelmed. The absolute key is the ear fit of the buds/tips - pretty obvious really but, nevertheless, the desired and required snug fit is a little hit or miss but when achieved everything falls into place. Bass, treble, noise cancellation, volume, ease of use, pairing with a variety of devices and comfort do not disappoint - an absolute joy and heartily recommended. One gripe in the app is the earbud fitting test - rarely does it tick both left and right as correct, although, judging by performance as outlined the fit is clearly good...getting the right fit can be a little tricky but worth the effort.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony Support Team
04 August 2022

Hi Ray,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your WF-1000XM4 and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
Furthermore, we highly appreciate your feedback and we've raised it to the relevant channels for future consideration.
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia @ Sony Support UK

0

Lousy piece of #^{%{

WF1000XM4/BME 31 July 2022 by Derek Chua (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Right side keep disconnect. Most of the time finger tap won’t work. Equilizer selected keep go to default. Have to check everytime.

Performance

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Singapore service team
02 August 2022

Hi Derek Chua,

We appreciate your feedback and wish to assist you further. Please contact us @ the link below for further support
https://web.sony-asia.com/sg/contact-us/

Sony Singapore service team

0

Fitting

WF-1000XM4 30 July 2022 by Bobbins54 (United Kingdom)

Had these a month now and still can't get one fitting correctly in 1 ear . Always adjusting it as it feels like it's coming out

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony support team
01 August 2022

Hi Bobbins54,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're sorry to learn that you're unable to find the perfect fit yet.
We recommend watching our “How To Wear” video here: https://bit.ly/3yu8jKp, and trying different combinations of the ear-tips to get the most comfortable fit.
If you need any assistance, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony support UK

0

It lives up to all the positive reviews!!

WF1000XM4/BME 30 July 2022 by DEeTH (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sounds great!! It lives up to all the positive reviews!! Although it looks quite big on my ears but I’m happy with the purchase

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great for music

WF-1000XM4 29 July 2022 by Fonsek87 (United Kingdom)

I have been using these now for a month linked to laptops and a Pixel 6. The proposal is a fair for the money on my opinion because: > Top price comes with top music quality, as well as top noise isolation. Music is very well balanced and with incredible quality. Great base, crisp highs... and noise isolation is very noticeable. TOP However: > Once linked to a device it keeps linking to that device... so jumping from laptop to mobile is not possible unless you disconnect the bluetooth on the device you want to jump off from (no command on the headphones to switch devices...) > They are just not an option for phone calls. I am just as good on this area with my old £30 set, I get good audio but the person I talk to struggles in outdoor environments. It doesn't seem they do isolate environment noise from voice... which is why these are not actually good value for me. On a note, I ended up changing the tips for silicon ones. The app was showing lack of sealing several times and I was struggling to fit them correctly to make the app happy. However with some old (good ones though) silicon tips they just pass the app test with flying colours anytime. Like the design, but I would personally sacrifice some range for smaller size. Personal choice here as sometimes I enjoy to squeeze my earphones under helmets... Touch buttons are great, best ones I have tried.

Performance

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony support team
01 August 2022

Hi Fonsek87,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're sorry to learn that you're experiencing issues with the Bluetooth connection and the phone calls quality.
Regarding the Bluetooth issue, we would like to highlight that this is how the Bluetooth connection is supposed
to work, since the headphones don't support Multipoint connection.
We recommend following the below steps in an attempt to resolve the phone call quality issue:
-Make sure that your headphones are fully charged.
-Test with another phone.
-Update the headphones: https://bit.ly/3lYVGma
-Reset them: https://bit.ly/3sFTWzR
-Initialize the headphones: https://bit.ly/3ipsjGX
If the issue remains, we would like to be able to offer some assistance, so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit...


Hana @Sony support UK

0

Worth to buy

WF1000XM4/SME 29 July 2022 by Afif Asyaddi (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

After testing a few product of TWS, deciding to buy WF-1000XM4 because it is the best TWS in the market right now and Sony always make sound better then others. The only negative comment is, when u buy this TWS, make sure change the earbuds to Spinfit 360 V2 or Compfly. The original earbuds make my ear not comfortable and hurt. That all.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Overall is great but there're room to improve.

WF1000XM4/BME 28 July 2022 by Damonlim (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pro: Active Noise Cancelling is outstanding Sound quality is great Fit nice and tight to the ears. Con: Some user instruction is NOT clearly mention to user. (E.g. Press both side 7seconds to pairing) People with small ears might get slightly uncomfortable for long time wearing Headphones button very sensitive, easy to trigger even if when you don't want to (especially wear during exercise, wipe away sweat).

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent sound

WF1000XM4/BME 28 July 2022 by Ak31 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a great purchase for me, and my brother really like it. The noise cancellation functioned as predicted, and the music quality was great.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Still the best

WF1000XM4/BME 27 July 2022 by Fyzal1823 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used x3 then upgraded to x4. Superb nc and solid sq when eq. This is my 2nd unit.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Unbelievably Fantastic Sound Quality!

WF-1000XM4 26 July 2022 by MremboAg22 (United Kingdom)

Superior sound. My son got me these for my upcoming birthday and I'm really pleased. I can hear that violin string cutting during classical orchestral music. I absolutely adore these discreet lovely buds!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality as usual

WF-1000XM4 26 July 2022 by Jono9658 (United Kingdom)

I bought these of an auction site for bankrupt stock about a month ago and got an excellent deal which was just music to my ears. I'm no audiophile and simply but appreciate good quality sounds delivered in what appears to be in a simple fashion. I appreciate that probably isn't the case in the background but I like to keep things simple. They fit pretty well in my ears with no noticeable discomfort after a while. They feel and look quality and I can't see any cheap aspects at all. One thing I didn't realise is that case can be wirelessly charged, bonus. The noise cancelling is impressive for a set of buds compared to previous brands I owned. Obviously these aren't at the same level as the XM4 WH but hey you need to remember it's a set of buds so no arguments from me. I recommend these if you want a premium bit of kit.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great set of ANC earbuds

WF1000XM4/BME 26 July 2022 by Kayuri (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using the buds for about 3 months. Quality is superb with the build design and material quality. Sound-wise, while they are good right out of the box, pair them with the app and you get a whole suite of customisation available for you. ANC is impressive considering that the Singapore underground MRT is lowered to a neglible drone while use in a cafe setting gives me a noise-free experience.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing sound

WF-1000XM4 25 July 2022 by MattM74 (United Kingdom)

I usually get Apple accessories to match my phone. These caught my eye and I am glad they did. Easy to pair with my IPhone via the App. The sound is amazing and they are head and shoulders above any headphones that I have tried before. Quite bulky to accommodate the bass speaker but they do not budge at all. The noise cancelling is amazing too. I cannot praise these enough, they are great looking and of a very high build quality! Best sound ever.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

WF-1000XM4 25 July 2022 by Rusty1005 (United Kingdom)

Really good quality sound. Havent quite handled all the functionalities yet as they are not that straight forward. For having great sound while watching movies on my pad though they are great. Looking forward to checking out the noise reduction when next on a plane.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Comfortable plus good sound system

WF1000XM4/BME 25 July 2022 by blian (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

These buds are comfortable to wear and noise cancelling is really good. Voice is clear for incoming calls. Satisfied with my purchase!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

BATTERY LIFE FTW!!!

WF1000XM4/B 22 July 2022 by Stormy Joe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The battery life on this product is unparalleled. I threw my Apple earbuds in the garbage after one day of use with the WF-1000XM4's. The tap function is also much better than the apple pros!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22 July 2022

Hi Stormy Joe,

You made the right choice with the Sony WF1000XM4! We're glad that you like the battery life and tap function of the headphones. We designed these headphones to provide incredible audio performance and take noise cancellation to the next level. You can enjoy crystal clear call quality, even in noisy environments and our speak-to-chat technology automatically reduces volume during conversation. Plus, you can get 8 hour long battery with noise canceling, IPX4 water resistance and easy wireless charging. Thanks for choosing Sony!

-Ralph

0

Great Features

WF1000XM4/BME 21 July 2022 by dwihp2 (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Help me focus with my work and it's good that you can control between noise cancelling mode and ambient/normal mode

Performance

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Noise Cancellation in class.

WF-1000XM4 20 July 2022 by Hann March (United Kingdom)

I guess I shouldn't be too surprised but tiny earphones could never provide the fullness or loudness of true over ear headphones.

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony support team
22 July 2022

Hi Hann,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to learn that you're enjoying the noise cancellation feature of your headphones, and for more years to come!
Bearing in mind that comparison between two different designs will definitely end up in the favour of the over-ear design, we would also like to highlight that the WF-1000XM4 now supports High-Resolution Audio Wireless. Thanks to specially designed 6 mm drivers, they reproduce a dynamic sound despite their small size, and the high compliance diaphragm reproduces a rich bass range. The Integrated Processor V1 also enhances sound quality and reduces distortion, and enables LDAC codec processing and DSEE Extreme.
If you need any assistance, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Battery Problem

WF1000XM4/BME 20 July 2022 by StevenSia (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 1 month ago and one month ago but the battery charge for Left ear is always not fully charge while the Right ear is ok

Performance

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Feature rich but don't feel very durable.

WF-1000XM4 18 July 2022 by Adamfr96 (United Kingdom)

Sony have asked me to review these while they are looking over my pair that I've had for a little over 6 months which are currently having an issue with low volume in one of the earbuds. I'd include a few pictures but I've not seen my earphones for a few weeks now and am told there is a delay in getting my earphones fixed... The build quality is okay but not great for the price, I think the overall build could be better really. They are quite plasticky which makes them light but they feel as if they could be broken quite easily too sadly. A massive pro though is the fit and in particular the foam ear tips. Together, they are very comfortable and create a good, passive seal. I can happily wear these for extended periods without any issues really. As for sound quality, I am happy overall. For the money you can definitely get better but I think you are paying for the compact, wireless design and features like ANC and ambient sound which in loud environments can make listening to audio through these much easier. I think it is worth mentioning that these come with LDAC which I have found to massively improve audio quality when connected to my phone - it seems to have pretty good latency too. I would say these are detailed enough and can have an EQ applied using the Sony app to better tailor them to your taste but these ultimately feel like they offer good enough clarity across the board but lack in sound stage, especially when compared to even some budget IEMs. I feel like the ANC and ambient sound deserve a bit of attention on their own. They are definitely an improvement over the previous model and I would say I prefer them to what some of the competitors offer. The ANC is quite subtle for me, I feel as though I get most of the benefit passively with how good the fit and the ear tips are anyway. The ANC definitely drowns out some background noise but not all in certain settings, it preforms best with low noises like the hum of an engine but leaves a bit to be desired even what cranked all the way up. The ambient noise mode is the stand out feature for me - extremely clear and can be adjusted to let more or less outside noise in. Very handy to just use the passive noise isolation and then let some noise in this way and compared to the competition the noise that is let in sounds less artificial to me. Overall I think these are great but then you really expect that for the price they go for. I've tried a few flagship wireless earphones now and settled on these as my favourites. I can definitely recommend them assuming money is no object as I do think they are a bit expensive for what they are and I am a bit concerned about their longevity due to the build quality. The sort of person that will enjoy these will want good audio quality but also want a convenient design with a solid feature set and likely, they are a jack of all trades and do many things well but don't really master much overall.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
20 July 2022

Hi Adam,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're not fully satisfied with the design of your WF-1000XM4, but we're glad to hear that you're enjoying their sound quality.
We highly appreciate your valued feedback and we're always delighted to hear from our customers, and are always working to develop our products to what suits your needs. Furthermore, we've raised your feedback to the relevant channels for future consideration and development.
If you need further assistance, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia @Sony Support UK

0

Great Sound, Harder fit for my ears

WF1000XM4/S 18 July 2022 by Comfox235 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Soind, Nice Noise Cancellation and xool design

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18 July 2022

Hi Comfox235,

Thank you for this amazing feedback! We're delighted to hear you are enjoying the superb sound quality, excellent noise cancellation, and you like the stylish design of our newest Industry-leading, noise-canceling Truly Wireless headphones. We do have good information and instruction video on how to wear the earbuds properly here: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wf-1000xm4/articles/00262839

We designed these headphones to provide incredible audio performance and take noise cancellation to the next level. You can enjoy crystal clear call quality, even in noisy environments and our speak-to-chat technology automatically reduces volume during conversation. Plus, you can get 8 hour long battery with noise canceling, IPX4 water resistance and easy wireless charging.

Thank you for your purchase and for the 5-star rating!
-Jess

0

I lost it

WF1000XM4/BME 16 July 2022 by mzzzzzzzz (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it a week ago and I lost it. I only used it for 3 times……….. it was great for all 3 times….. waiting for discounts so I can rebuy it :(

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good sound

WF1000XM4/B 16 July 2022 by Chachi 76 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound ,small enough to fit in the pocket .also has a good app.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16 July 2022

Hi Chachi 76,

Great! We're glad that you like the sound quality, size, and dedicated app (Sony Headphones Connect) of the headphones. We designed these headphones to provide incredible audio performance and take noise cancellation to the next level. You can enjoy crystal clear call quality, even in noisy environments and our speak-to-chat technology automatically reduces volume during conversation. Plus, you can get 8 hour long battery with noise canceling, IPX4 water resistance and easy wireless charging. Thanks for choosing Sony!

-Ralph

0

Great sound &very good features

WF-1000XM4 15 July 2022 by Musclehead (United Kingdom)

Live up to it's expectation like it's predecessors xm3 but better battery life"

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
18 July 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your earphones, and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're delighted to keep you as one of our loyal Sony family members.

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sawy @Sony Support UK

0

Not as great as advertised/ reviewed by others

WF1000XM4/SME 13 July 2022 by KLBS (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Poor bass compared to normal wired earphones from iPhone default unit.

Performance

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Top quality

WF-1000XM4 13 July 2022 by Mars63 (United Kingdom)

What a great sound. Never thought this, was possible with in ear plugs.

Performance

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great noise cancelling earpieces

WF1000XM4/BME 13 July 2022 by Stephen777 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pleasantly surprised with the sound quality of these earpieces. Rich sound and you can customise the bass / treble to your liking.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sounding ANC TWS

WF1000XM4/BME 11 July 2022 by Exia (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Despite reviews taking about the size and how heavy the earbuds are, I find them to be one of the most comfortable. The memory foam tips make it a pleasure to put them on. They provide great sealing without over pressing my ear canals. Just be sure to use the right size for the foam tips. I would recommend starting with the smallest first and gradually increase to a larger size if you can't get a good fit. Use the app to determine the right size.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not as good as I’d expected

WF-1000XM4 10 July 2022 by dystrad (United Kingdom)

I bought these with high expectations. The sound is very good and there are some clever features. I previously had Mifo ear phones. For sound quality they are the same. Perhaps my expectations were too high.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony Support Team
13 July 2022

Hi,
Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Sony WF-1000XM4 and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're delighted to keep you as one of our loyal Sony family members. You can adjust the sound quality mode on your headset from this link: http://bit.do/fUPiX, you can also check this link which will provide you with some tips and tricks on how to get better sound quality on your headset: http://bit.do/fUPi4
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL
Elshahat @Sony Support UK

0

Good audio and comfy to wear

WF-1000XM4 10 July 2022 by DavieR1 (United Kingdom)

Good audio and comfy to wear but seems to amplify some external noises. I can hear noises like the radio playing in another room clearer on the headphones than without them. I've tried changing settings but they still behave like hearing aids. Work fine outdoors.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
13 July 2022

Hi,
Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Sony WF-1000XM4 and we're sorry to hear that they amplify some external noises. We would like to highlight that you can hear ambient sound through the microphones embedded in the left and right units of the headset while enjoying music if you've enabled ambient sound mode on your headset. The ambient sound mode offers you two options:
Normal mode: While enjoying music, you can hear the surrounding sound as if you were not wearing the headset.
Voice mode: While enjoying music, you can pick up the sound (such as announcements in the train) that you want to hear.
To turn off the Ambient Sound Mode, you can tap the touch sensor on the left unit to turn off the Ambient Sound Mode.
Each time you tap, the function switches as follows.
Noise cancelling function: ON
You will hear the voice guidance say, “Noise cancelling”.
Ambient Sound Mode: ON
You will hear the voice guidance say, “Ambient sound”.
You can check this link for more info: http://bit.do/fUPiG
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL
Elshahat @Sony Support UK

0

Fantastic sound, fantastic stage, too customisatio

WF-1000XM4 09 July 2022 by sef_sef (United Kingdom)

The best choice for Hi-Fi fans, great noisecancelling options

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant sound with great noise cancellation.

WF-1000XM4 08 July 2022 by Saddlers (United Kingdom)

App makes personalising buds to your own taste easy. Love the base which is not overpowering but adds to the depth of sound. Not used buds in windy conditions yet so cannot comment if it affects your listening experience. No problems with buds falling out, a nice snug fit

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this ANC

WF1000XM4/BME 07 July 2022 by Don Ng (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent, my 2nd pair since i lost my 1st. Great quality and ANC.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb features

WF1000XM4/BME 06 July 2022 by Clairvo72 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a month ago, tested some of the features, really cool, especially the NC n ambience switching. Just that I personally love more bass. It would be great if it's able to give a strong n powerful punch. Overall still a great pair or ear piece I've come across!

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Promising but too large for my ears

WF1000XM4/B 06 July 2022 by cacti (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I thought Jabras were great...until I was in a long-distance relationship and encouraged my partner to get Jabras as well. The microphones constantly picked up background noise to an unbearable degree when we were both using them. So I tried these WF-1000XM4 headphones. The sound quality in how it picks up my speaking voice but minimizes other sounds such as wind/kitchen noises/etc. is superior to Jabra. Unfortunately, they are just huge. I use the smallest earbud covers and those fit my ears, but the bulk of the object overall is so much that I sometimes have the left one fall out. I also don't know how to fix the problem of the headphones "stealing" the music from Sonos when I'm playing it from my phone and I put the headphones in (say, to answer a phone call...then the music is playing AND the phone call).

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12 July 2022

Hi cacti, Thank you for the feedback on your experience with your Sony WF1000XM4 headphones. While we're glad you like the crystal clear audio quality especially during calls, we regret to hear that the size of the earbuds didn't fit perfectly in your ears. This is usually not the case for our Sony WF1000XM4 nor the experience we want you to have.
We provide an assortment of earbuds in various sizes to ensure there is a great fit for all ear sizes. To obtain the best fit and prevent the headsets from falling out, please refer to this link: https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm4/v1/en/contents/TP1000237901.html

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Everything in the WF-1000XM4 headphones has been designed from the ground up.The new Integrated Processor V1 delivers unmatched performance while using even less power. Adding in drastically enhanced call and sound quality that reduces distortion and enables LDAC code processing and DSEE Extreme, IPX4 water resistance, and up to 24 hours of battery life with wireless charging, ergonomic surface design for a more stable fit, the WF-1000XM4 Truly Wireless Earbuds are unlike any other before them. Thanks for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Fantastic sound quality

WF1000XM4/SME 05 July 2022 by pokeflute (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was thinking between the WH or WF-1000XM4, the portability of the small size stands out. No compromises on sound quality and comfort, highly recommended.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Frequent Disconnected

WF1000XM4/BME 05 July 2022 by Ling Hoang (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it about an month ago, the frequency of audio disconnection is getting serious. Such a disappointment for having that experience as XM4 is the current flagship for Sony.

Performance

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great potential

WF-1000XM4 04 July 2022 by Eblue43 (United Kingdom)

Good earbuds, would be great if you could have louder volume

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony support team
06 July 2022

Hi Eblue43,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your headphones. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
We hope you will continue to enjoy them for many more years to come!
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Great sound...some functionalities disappointing

WF-1000XM4 04 July 2022 by Pat1961 (United Kingdom)

Great sound indeed...the best vs my previous competitors one's. Some features disappointing : you have yo decide either to drive sounds up/down or change tracks via earbuds sensors. Just can connect to one device at a time.

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony support team
06 July 2022

Hi Pat1961,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your headphones. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
We hope you will continue to enjoy them for many more years to come!
We would like to highlight that the Multipoint function is available on other models like the WH-1000XM4, and we'll make sure to pass your feedback about the touch controls through the proper channels for future consideration.
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony support UK


0

Great earbud.

WF-1000XM4 04 July 2022 by Botchokoy (United Kingdom)

It was an awesome product which i can use everyday. Sound quality is brilliant. Fits well to my ear.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Earbuds cause soreness

WF1000XM4/BME 03 July 2022 by DennisTok (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Earbuds poor fitting cause soreness of my ears. The earbuds also fall out when doing exercise. However, I must say the noise cancellation is good.

Performance

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing sound and build quality!

WF-1000XM4 03 July 2022 by SteveBo (United Kingdom)

Good: Bought these a couple of weeks ago and have used them for music, listening to pod casts, and to recorded tour guides while on vacation. The sound quality is fantastic for a Bluetooth device, they're really comfortable (although none of the supplied tips sealed properly in my ears) and easy to control. So-so: They could do with a wider range of ear tips, the foam ones supplied feel great but don't seal so had to use standard silicone ones. The 360 sound works well but is a bit of a gimmick really. Bad: nothing!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Not bad

WF-1000XM4 02 July 2022 by Sunre (United Kingdom)

Nice sound but I want more volume when I'm out and about

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony Support Team
04 July 2022

Hi Sunre,

Thank you for your review.

Could you ensure that your headphones are running on the latest software version by following this link: https://bit.ly/3acKE5C?

You can also follow the steps clarified on the following link: https://bit.ly/3unKqn3 as an attempt of rectifying the issue.

Moreover, we have flagged your feedback as voice of customer to the concerned team for future consideration.

Don't hesitate to reach out to us over the phone, chat support and email using the details here: https://bit.ly/3xPUapp to provide us with any further feedback you may have, we're always delighted to hear from our customers.

Mennah @Sony Support UK

0

Love these

WF-1000XM4 02 July 2022 by Kim1801 (United Kingdom)

Bought these on a recent trip to Spain - they are amazing. Great features and the noise cancelling worked wonders on my flight home

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent features

WF-1000XM4 01 July 2022 by Wakeyjoe (United Kingdom)

Very good acoustics with ambient feature and noise cancelling. Easy to fit and take out. Stylish design.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good earbuds but also comes with some issues

WF1000XM4/BME 01 July 2022 by Jonathon6754 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The design looks slick, sound quality is good, but the casing quality ain't the best and I occasionally, one of the ear piece disconnects for no reason at all.

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

Response From Sony Singapore service team
05 July 2022

HI Jonathon6754,

Thank you for your feedback.

We understand you are having 1 side intermittent disconnection. We recommend following the steps from the link below.
https://www.sony.com.sg/electronics/support/articles/00097458

Sony Singapore service team

0

Fantastic sound quality. But...

WF-1000XM4 30 June 2022 by marshian (United Kingdom)

The sound quality is incredible, no questions asked. But, there's two things that I feel I should point out. The first, is that they really are kinda chunky - certainly the largest pair of "in ear" earphones I have ever owned (and I have owned a few). The second - and this is my biggest gripe is that the marketing literature states that you can customise the controls - which was one of the most influential factors that swayed my purchase decision - and that was the "customisable controls". However, that is not quite true. I wanted to customise the controls so that a short tap on the left earbud would change the ANC mode (noise cancelling, transparent, off) and a long tap would reduce the volume - whereas on the right I wanted a short tap to control pausing/playing etc. and a long tap to increase the volume. HOWEVER, I could either choose to swap the ANC mode controls with the volume not mix and match. So, while you can change the controls to a limited extent so you have to decide which type of controls you want, you cannot have your cake and eat it - so to speak. So, if sound quality is the most important thing for you - then I would recommend these earphones; but if every day convenience is more important then I would recommend something a little smaller with a decent sound and better controls.

Performance

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony Support Team
04 July 2022

Hi marshian,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your earphones, and sorry to learn that you've faced some issues controlling and adjusting the gesture controls for the earphones, and that you found them large.

We would recommend following these guides on how to wear the earphones, and choosing the perfect size ear-tips for them to fit properly: https://bit.ly/3df3meE & https://bit.ly/3ujru7o.

Also, as you stated there's a limited gesture controls that you can set using the earphones: https://bit.ly/3R4TGpI.
But you can also use ''Sony Headphones Connect'' to change the function of the button or touch sensor: https://bit.ly/3bOtRKg.

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sawy @Sony Support UK

0

Not worth the price or hype

WF1000XM4/B 29 June 2022 by mmorse1715 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very disappointed with the Truly Wireless earbuds. I have the Galaxy Earbuds 2 and I purchased the Sony earbuds because the touch control on the Galaxy earbuds is not very good. I was also hoping for better sound, based on the description on the Sony site and Sony's reputation. The sound on the Sony earbuds is not nearly as good as the Galaxy Earbuds. There is very minimal bass, and they do not get very loud. I have used the Sony app to try to adjust the sound and cannot get the same feeling for my music that the Galaxy buds provide. Additionally, the noise canceling is useless, I do not notice any change at all when the noise canceling is turned on. Beyond the disappointing earbuds, the Sony site has proven equally useless. I registered on the site and registered my earbuds, and I cannot find them listed anywhere on my profile. It is as if I have no Sony products at all, and maybe it will be better that way. I have not returned these because it just is not worth the effort. These will act as a backup, but they are far from my first choice. I will hang onto my Galaxy Earbuds as my primary earbuds, and just deal with the poor touch controls. I really wished Sony had done a better job with these. They sure talked them up a lot, to bad the results do not match the hype.

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30 June 2022

Hi mmorse1715,

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry if our WF-1000XM4 didn't live up to your expectations. We are also sorry if you are having an issue with the product registration. This is definitely not the experience we wanted you to have.

We received a lot of good feedback about the sound quality of these headphones. We designed the WF-1000XM4 to provide incredible audio performance and take noise cancelation to the next level. However, if the size of the earbud tips does not match the size of your ear canals or the headset is not properly worn on your ears, you may not obtain proper sound qualities, noise canceling effects, or call performances. To ensure you are wearing the headphones properly, please follow the steps provided on this article:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wf-1000xm4/articles/00262839

If the issues persist, please refer to the following troubleshooting articles to further isolate the problem:
https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wf1000xm4/v1/en/contents/TP1000239083.html
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wf-1000xm4/articles/00265207

And for your issue with the product registration, we'd love to know more about the problem you are having and help you out. Please email the information below to socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can best assist you.

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

We value you being a Sony customer. Sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak directly to try to resolve this matter.

Thank you for letting us help assist you.

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Didn’t last a week

WF1000XM4/S 29 June 2022 by ListenUpBk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was super excited, but after a couple of days, the pair quit working together and only one bud would connect to the device at a time. SO FRUSTRATING. The reset/repairing process (which is like the most obscure, OCD triggering process ever!) just kept offering up false and exasperating hope. Likely my last Sony purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30 June 2022

Hi ListenUpBk,

This is not the experience that we want you to have. For optimum performance, make sure that the software version of the headphones is updated (via the Sony Headphones Connect app). You may also refer to the troubleshooting steps on this link to help resolve the issue:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wf-1000xm4/articles/00265209

If still not resolved or you need further assistance, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com.

Full Name:
Sony.com Username:
Telephone Number:
Sony Headphones Model Number:
Issue:
Additional Information regarding your experience with the WF1000XM4.

Sincerely,

-Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Phone call quaity

WF1000XM4/BME 28 June 2022 by Peter the tank (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

How can it be worst off than the Sony link S buds? This is the flagship item of Sony.

Performance

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Noise cancelling is superb!

WF1000XM4/BME 27 June 2022 by jacky91 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought and use this for a week or two. The noise cancelling is really awesome! However, whenever I turned on ambient sound, the background noise tend to be very overwhelming. Also, as both earbuds are on their own, whenever I put both in ear, it would take a bit of time for me to actually be able to listen to music. Besides that, if I am using single sided (right side), the ambient sound is on by default, which is kind of annoying. Hopefully it can be turned off by default, since I can already hear what is going on around me.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best True Wireless Earpiece

WF1000XM4/BME 27 June 2022 by ZhuZhuW (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the best true wireless earpiece I have tried so far. Great noise cancelling function and great music with the right amount of bass and treble.I like the fact that each earpiece can play music on its own.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best in class

WF1000XM4/SME 27 June 2022 by alan_b (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good NC and the best I have come across so far. A bit pricey if not for the special promotion I got. Waiting for the size to reduce in the next XM5 :)

Performance

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0