15

4.0 based on 15 customer reviews

7
5
1
0
2
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Needs the DTS Update and Rear Speaker Capability

HT-ST5000//MSP1 18 July 2017 by DHB117 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this almost two weeks ago and while I don't have a case of buyer's remorse (yet), I hope some improvements can be made. One issue is that the 7.1.2 does not have DTS capability. I'm told that it will be added as an upgrade to new and existing units later this year, but I would like to know that this is a certainty and when the upgrade is scheduled to occur. Also, it would be a much better product if it had the capability of adding wireless rear speakers to the unit. While the sound is excellent, the upfiring speakers at the ends of the unit don't quite do the job of bouncing sound to the rear of the listener. The ability to add rear wireless speakers would go a long way in addressing this problem. I am generally pleased with the 7.1.2, even though the price tag was quite hefty. Please advise if the above mentioned improvements can and will be made.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

29

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony ST5000 runs HOT

HT-ST5000//MSP1 07 September 2018 by Victor T (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought from Best Denki. Delivered 2 days later. after setup, updated firmware. First imprrssions, soundbar was hot to touch (above 70 degrees celcius). tested base. lots of distortion and cackling. recorded distortion and best denki arranged for 1 to 1 exchange. 2nd bar arrived a week later. no distortion on 1st day but bar still ran equally hot. 2nd day, bass was cackling like the first soundbar. called best, they said they will get sony tech person to check. no news after 1 week. returned the set and upgraded to samsung hw n950. final tots: sounds great if u can get it to work.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

15 Customer Reviews

0

Great Soundbar

HT-ST5000//MSP1 13 December 2018 by ukiya21 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it during Nov 2018. Surprised that Sony still updated it with additional features (eARC, DTS:X, etc) even though it been launched in the 2017. It would be good if Sony add the rear satellite speaker support for better sound surround. Good Dolby Atmos sound. Can also be a very good music player.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony ST5000 Atmos soundbar

HT-ST5000//MSP1 10 December 2018  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The soundbar produces sound that is clear and accurate. Very good for movies as well as music. The biggest flaw is the subwoofer. Connection to the main soundbar is very bad. The subwoofer has severe popping and cracking sound and Sony does not have solutions to fix this connection issue. None of the recommendations from Sony works.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Sound

HT-ST5000//MSP1 12 November 2018 by cheve36 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent sound and ambience, great for watching movies. Brings great atmosphere to any movie or music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Sound!

HT-ST5000//MSP1 09 October 2018 by Gemiur (Malaysia)

I have been testing on the soundbar with Dolby Atmos blue-ray discs played from my PS4 Pro. After making some sound settings changes on PS4 Pro as highlighted by some sites, I could see it's outputting audio in Dolby Atmos. The sounds is unbelievably real and as you would expect in a Dolby Atmos enabled theather.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Sound

HT-ST5000//MSP1 02 October 2018 by Kevin Loy (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bot this 3 weeks ago. The soundbar cab handle all kinds of music extremely well. The mids and high are very clear and the bass is strong, punchy and fantastic. For movies, it is very good too. The only issue is that it desperately need wireless rear surround speakers for movies to have the complete surround sound. I hope sony will do sth about this asap coz a lot of people have the same comments. If it.can be connected to rear speakers, I think it would be top of the line, qbest of the best soundbar.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Premium price product with low grade quality

HT-ST5000//MSP1 30 September 2018  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound on PS4 is worst with muffling effect, Movie Atmos sometime there and sometime not, Music average in fact my car audio is better, Such premium price product but quality like China made, but in fact China made better in quality

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Great Sound Respond

HT-ST5000//MSP1 17 September 2018 by beng hua (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound respond might get hot if use for long hour

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

the ideal home theatre system for apartments

HT-ST5000//MSP1 08 September 2018  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this around a month back and was blown away with the build n sound quality. The best HT investment I have made to date and it really complements my Sony X8500c65 tv!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony ST5000 runs HOT

HT-ST5000//MSP1 07 September 2018 by Victor T (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought from Best Denki. Delivered 2 days later. after setup, updated firmware. First imprrssions, soundbar was hot to touch (above 70 degrees celcius). tested base. lots of distortion and cackling. recorded distortion and best denki arranged for 1 to 1 exchange. 2nd bar arrived a week later. no distortion on 1st day but bar still ran equally hot. 2nd day, bass was cackling like the first soundbar. called best, they said they will get sony tech person to check. no news after 1 week. returned the set and upgraded to samsung hw n950. final tots: sounds great if u can get it to work.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Sound System

HT-ST5000//MSP1 21 August 2018 by coyee (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great soundbar sound system with all feature easy setting

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wonderful!

HT-ST5000//MSP1 11 May 2018 by Julian T (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Epic sound quality and excellent design but its abit pricey.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound Quality and Ease of use

HT-ST5000//MSP1 21 January 2018 by ChingParty (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this sound system for a week and really love it. The setup was easy. I watched a movie with the system and the sound was excellent. The design and build was excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Product

HT-ST5000//MSP1 21 January 2018 by Sunblock (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product is easy to setup to a person who has the knowledge of connecting equipment with HDMI ARC feature. However, it will cause some struggle to a person who is installing it the first time using ARC because the manual is not detailed enough as what to avoid especially if they are other vendor devices to connect to using the HDMI ports at the ST5000 Sound Bar. Another feature is to have the ability to display the audio format during play ie TrueHD, Atmos, etc. and hope future firmware upgrade can implement this feature. That is the reason why 4-star is given for the features category.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

VERY SIMPLE FEATURE AND NICE

HT-ST5000//MSP1 06 January 2018 by Jackmarobam (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just two week ago. This is my first time bought the Sound bar. so far can be acceptable.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Needs the DTS Update and Rear Speaker Capability

HT-ST5000//MSP1 18 July 2017 by DHB117 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this almost two weeks ago and while I don't have a case of buyer's remorse (yet), I hope some improvements can be made. One issue is that the 7.1.2 does not have DTS capability. I'm told that it will be added as an upgrade to new and existing units later this year, but I would like to know that this is a certainty and when the upgrade is scheduled to occur. Also, it would be a much better product if it had the capability of adding wireless rear speakers to the unit. While the sound is excellent, the upfiring speakers at the ends of the unit don't quite do the job of bouncing sound to the rear of the listener. The ability to add rear wireless speakers would go a long way in addressing this problem. I am generally pleased with the 7.1.2, even though the price tag was quite hefty. Please advise if the above mentioned improvements can and will be made.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

29

0