101

4.4 based on 101 customer reviews

66
19
10
3
3
Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Hands-down the best Android phone

Xperia 5 III 07 December 2021 by Arjun Sen (United Kingdom)

For me, the best Android phone on the market at this size. I had the Sony Xperia 5 and this a great improvement across the board. PROs: Excellent screen, better camera, improved selfie cam, better performance. I love the long format narrow width - fits my smaller hands. The side fingerprint reader is ideally placed and is also the power button which is a nice touch (no pun intended). The Sony camera app is clearly pitched to prosumer/enthusiast which is feature-rich and includes a dedicated "shutter" button - a nice convenience feature. Great sound quality and speakers are punchy too. The phone benefits from the tech that Sony are leaders in: Audio, Video, Photography. Hardly any Sony bloatware and the Sony apps are actually useful. I also received free nc headphones on offer. Thanks Sony! Cons: Sony should promote these phones more aggressively. Many retailers do not stock them and being such a high quality phone it's disappointing to see Sony almost ignored in many retailers. The gaming overlay is a tad annoying. The Side Sense feature needs a bit more thought if using phone covers. I miss the blue coloured version previously available on the 5 & 5ii. Not enough to dock a star tho. Well done Sony and please don't stop building these great phones. I have never used Apple/Samsung/Google and don't intend to. I admire the manufacturers who have actually invented the tech from the ground-up.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Phone is Non-responsive and It Hangs.

XQ-BQ72/G2SEAC2 11 January 2022 by Hoch2828 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this phone less than 1 month ago. When all is finally set-up, I discovered that the phone is intermittently non-responsive when opening apps such as Whatsapp, photo album, LinkedIn, Music player, etc, etc.... I sent phone back to Sony Service Centre at 313 for trouble-shooting & repair within the week. The service centre technician responded in less than 1 week saying he was not able to detect any defect with the phone. He rebooted and reinstalled the phone operating system requesting that I re-setup the phone to verify. I re-setup the phone and re-installed the required Apps. However, the phone still exhibits intermittent unresponsiveness up till this day. The phone also hangs ever so often and I have to force re-start the phone whenever this happens. I must say that this is the worst Sony phone model that I have ever owned after so many years of trust and confidence in Sony products. I believe this particular unit must be one of the few defective ones released from the factory. This is very frustrating & disappointing. How I wish Sony could replace this defective Xperia 5 III phone with a brand new working one in order to restore my confidence in Sony phones!

Performance

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

102 Customer Reviews

0

Sony Xperia 5 III

XQBQ62/B 28 June 2022 by gta54354 (USA)

If your look for a good phone but don't know what to get well the sony Xperia 5 iii has you cover, it's not only sleek but it is a very powerful machine. It has a 6.1 0led display with 120 hz and comes packed with a snap dragon 888. It can play lots of game including Wii games if you know how to get them. This phone has an amazing camera that you can literally create beautiful photos, also the camera is not just an ordinary camera it copies the alpha cameras that Sony has made you have different setting that you can mess with and it also has cinema pro that lets you create amazing video or short movies if you like. This phone has been amazing for me and if your good at using DSLR cameras this phone is for you. This is no promotion this all my very own opinion. Thx Sony for making a beautiful phone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Reliable performance.

Xperia 5 III 21 June 2022 by Andy 24 (United Kingdom)

Sony has never let me down.This is a great phone. Thanks.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simply love the size and Camera

XQ-BQ72/G2SEAC2 15 June 2022 by Legionchaos (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the number 5 ot 6 Xperia Home and the hardware so far had hardly been a let down minus careless human actions

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A well built phone. Being narrow easy to hold

Xperia 5 III 13 June 2022 by Vidmit (United Kingdom)

Replacement for zx2 compact, as it's not much wider. great to use as the interface hasn't changed much. I know my old phone was a few years old but I would like a camera setting where there are no menus, just click (Sony, super simple mode). Battery seems to last long enough me me. Overall a good phone

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

SAD UPGRADE

Xperia 5 III 11 June 2022 by Wizard of Oz one (United Kingdom)

I replaced my 5ii because I dropped and smashed it (the first one in my life), I've had Sony phones since they where Sony Ericsson, but this is a poor phone. It's slower and the camera dreadful. I wish I'd had the old one reoaired

Performance

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony Support Team
14 June 2022

Hi,

Thank you for leaving your review, and we're sorry to hear that our product hasn't satisfied your expectations, this is not the norm as we strive to deliver the best quality possible.

In this case, we would have recommended following the troubleshooting steps clarified here: https://bit.ly/3sYBLpt as an attempt of rectifying the issue.

However, rest assured, we will certainly pass your feedback through the relevant channels to ensure it can be considered in future updates.

Please let us know if you have any questions or if there’s anything you need in relation to this issue by reaching out to us over the phone, chat support and email using the details here: https://bit.ly/3xPUapp, we’re always delighted to hear from our customers.

Hopefully you'll re consider Sony in the future, especially since you've been a loyal Sony fan for years and hopefully for many more years to come!

Mennah @Sony Support UK



0

Really wanted to like it

XQBQ62/B 08 June 2022 by XperiaReview (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace the X/Z 2 Compact, which was my favorite phone that I've ever had. This current phone has strange proportions (oddly tall) so I would recommend seeing it in person before you buy it. Two main issues: all of the buttons, including the finger sensor are on the side where you try to grip the phone. I accidentally unlock the phone more than I would like to. Also, the swipe-down shortcuts are frequently activated in my pocket, while locked. I'll take my phone out sometimes and the flashlight will be going and Bluetooth will have been turned on. That's really frustrating.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The Usual High Quality from Sony

Xperia 5 III 06 June 2022 by ChirpyChris (United Kingdom)

3rd Sony Phone. Bought for general usage, but with an excellent Camera. Camera can be used as a point and click, but more complex setting are available for photo geeks. Battery life good. Screen good. Nice feel of a quality product. Also, operates well as a 5G mobile phone!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice!

XQ-BQ72/G2SEAC2 05 June 2022 by Naddanai (Thailand) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought two weeks ago and satisfied with the phone.

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Has everything I need and nothing I don't.

XQBQ62/B 27 May 2022 by Brandonhabanero (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony phones are some of the few that still have the 3.5mm headphone jack and a flat screen while still performing competitively with apple and Samsung. No bloatware, super fast screen, and the 5 iii fits so nicely in my pocket that I can still play guitar without having to take it out. There's minimal photo processing, so photos don't look as crisp out of the box, but that's good if you're trying to take selfies that don't make your face look 20 years older than it is.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Experia 5 mark iii thoughts.

Xperia 5 III 26 May 2022 by Ashthx (United Kingdom)

I changed to Sony Experia from Apple 5 years ago and have never looked back, this new phone is incredible, the thing's that were most important to me like camera, video and music player, sound and screen quality is absolutely stunning on this model.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great phone

Xperia 5 III 25 May 2022 by Splut (United Kingdom)

Have been using this for a couple of months and I am generally very happy with it. My only problem is the fingerprint reader on the power button. Can often unlock the phone as input it into my pocket or similar due to reader being on the power button and I regularly using that to lock the device as I put it into my pocket. Leaving the finger slightly too long on the power button will unlock it again.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
27 May 2022

Hi Splut,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Xperia 5 lll.
And we highly appreciate your feedback regarding the fingerprint sensor,we're always delighted to hear from our customers and are always working to develop the Xperia Smartphones to what suits your needs. we've raised your feedback to the relevant channels for future consideration and developments.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia @Sony Support UK

0

Full of New and Unseen Features

Xperia 5 III 22 May 2022 by teddynow (United Kingdom)

For me this device has four stand out features which are the display, cameras, audio and the game enhancer features. The display has quality features and functions that I have never seen in any other device that make it so much nicer to use. Also the 120Hz fresh rFe and the 240Hz sample rates make the phone a breeze and super intuitive to use. As a photographer the cameras allow you to super fine tune your shots with the Sony Aplha software being utilised, which is unlike anything else on the market. I love the speakers on the phone (both front facing) and super clear as Sony has implemented many fine tuning settings and quality controls - this also goes for any Sony headphones too. And the last stand out feature for me is the game enhancer, I do not often game on mobile at all though it does allow me to really fine tune my experience similar to what I may expect on a PC or PS. The H.S Power Control setting, is most likely a battery life saver in the coming months/years. (please add H.S Power Control system wide, so it can be utilised at anytime!!)

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Sound, Crappy Camera

Xperia 5 III 20 May 2022 by Keksyj (United Kingdom)

I'm hard of hearing so the sound quality is important to me, this is the best phone I have ever had for the primary purpose, ie making pone calls. However the camera stopped working after a system upgrade, and no help from Sony, shame.

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony Support Team
23 May 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying the sound quality of your phone, and sorry to learn that the camera stopped working.

We would recommend force restarting the phone and test it once more: https://bit.ly/3ySKnCt.
Also, you can run the test for the camera by going to to the settings, then support, then choose tests from the list.
You may also run the device in safe mode, and check it once more: https://bit.ly/38HyOn6.
And if the issue persists, we recommend trying a software repair for the phone: https://youtu.be/2YQ23k11NFc & https://bit.ly/3M3aj1H & https://bit.ly/3G8K5Jr.

Just make sure to backup your data before performing the software repair so you won't lose it: https://bit.ly/3M3xmJS.

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sawy @Sony Support UK

0

Sony Xperia 5 iii

Xperia 5 III 20 May 2022 by Sangharob (United Kingdom)

Been using my Sony Xperia 5 iii for a month now, it's a joy to use, I am a Sony fan, this is my 7th in a row, the tech and battery you get is impressive. I have always liked to be different from the masses, Sony is waterproof, also has a 3.5 mm headphones jack and battery life is great.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great phone with Good Battery Life

XQ-BQ72/G2SEAC2 18 May 2022 by Treadstone (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Speedy phone and battery that last the whole day and more. Down side, location of the finger print sensor is not ideal. Always turn on the screen unintentionally.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little companion

Xperia 5 III 17 May 2022 by JAWHY (United Kingdom)

Recently upgraded my old Xperia Z5 to a Xperia 5III - couldn't be happier with choice. Its not the uber latest Sony phone, but it has all the goodies I need, especially the brilliant media bias - awesome screen fantastic refresh, great sound and excellent camera. If you are looking for a great phone and you are into music, gaming and movies - Xperia 5II is a great choice.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful phone

Xperia 5 III 17 May 2022 by Ben15 (United Kingdom)

Phone arrived next day and I am super pleased with it

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superbbb

XQ-BQ72/G2SEAC2 17 May 2022 by Aydee16 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was eyeing for the last unit Xperia 1ii but was unavailable. Decided to take 5iii instead. I love how it feels in the hands and physical buttons just within reach. Awesome photos, great sounds from the speakers.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I like it so far.

XQBQ62/B 16 May 2022 by EmmAni (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I admit I am loyal to Sony products. From TVs, surround sound systems, Blu-rays, and DVDs. speakers and phones, all Sony! So I am so far happy with my purchase. Works well with the 5g currently in my area and I like to quality of photos!

Performance

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Features

Xperia 5 III 07 May 2022 by Tendo (United Kingdom)

I bought this recently and at first I started thinking I made a mistake as I had moved on from my Sony XZ3. In using the phone, I started realising it has features that my XZ3 hasn't and the camera is amazing!!! It captured amazing photos when I went to a wedding which my XZ3 wouldn't have captured. I was pleased with the camera and the multi-tasking feature, the Dolby Atmos sound setting, the 360 spatial sound and the DSEE Ultimate. I was so happy that the dynamic vibration feature was kept in the phone and this was also in my XZ3. I do love the cinema pro as well as it captures great videos and can't wait to keep using this phone. To add to this, it's also very lightweight and gaming on the phone is amazing, specially with the game enhancement feature. I do wish however, it was easy to find the phone in UK phone shops as I couldn't have a look at it prior to buying it, but happy that I managed to get it from Sony and in green, my favourite colour. The battery is also really good, mine lasts until the next day and doesn't drain quickly. Definitely worth my money!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Xperia 5iii

Xperia 5 III 05 May 2022 by Rolypoly 1958 (United Kingdom)

This phone has many useful but difficult to find apps

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

exquisite design and construction

Xperia 5 III 24 April 2022 by futycrunchie (United Kingdom)

a little bit small, but after a couple days is so light and comfortable that you somehow start to hate phablets!!!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Awesome phone

Xperia 5 III 24 April 2022 by Gouldin (United Kingdom)

Phone does everything better than the rest, only thing I'd love more would be if was back to a Compact size phone, but speed, camera display etc are all brilliant along with the battery life.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Camera & Audio

Xperia 5 III 24 April 2022 by PaulieW (United Kingdom)

Bought this to replace my previous Xperia 10 which was becoming a bit slow. As I enjoy taking photographs I was looking for a versatile Camera Phone which the Xperia 5 111 has. Just returned from Holiday and have been very impressed with the pictures. Also the whole phone is much quicker with great visuals etc.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Loving my return to Xperia

XQ-BQ72/G2SEAC2 24 April 2022 by Shigure (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using Huawei (P30 Pro) from 2019 to 2021 and Samsung (S21). I have to say, Xperia still feels a lot better in use. 1. Not as heavy as Huawei's phones in a similar category, slimmer form factor than both Hua Wei and Samsung. Feels more natural to hold in the hand with one-handed operation. 2. UI feels a lot less bloated than both those other brands. Comfortable with more stock Android apps than bloatware. 3. Camera renders colour more naturally, and is easier to navigate the app and do manual shots. 4. Stamina Mode better than comparative apps on the other 2 phone makers, battery drain seems more manageable. A problem with Samsung (but not Huawei) is that after less than 6 months of use the battery drained rapidly even with light use. My experience with past Xperia models was better even with moderate to heavy use, with battery drain remaining good past the 1.5 year mark. Hope the 5III lives up to it. 5. Xperia's waterproofing has never failed me on pervious models. My Huawei died after 15min in storm conditions during a run, 18 months into use. My old Xperia phones are still going strong. Hope the 5III lives up to pedigree. However, the cost is on the high side. That Sony can throw in a free set of earphones suggests that the price can be lower.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Very Nice phone to use

Xperia 5 III 17 April 2022 by AN48 (United Kingdom)

I have had Sony phones for many years until you changed the screen size to 21:9 I had a Xperia 1 but it was to tall in my pocket. I swapped it for a Samsung Galaxy but I still find myself coming back to Sony. The Xperia 5iii is just right in size and the battery life is very good I have had it a couple of weeks and I am very pleased. If Sony could just offer 3-4 years of updates it would be perfect.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony Support Team
19 April 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Xperia 5 lll and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're delighted to keep you as one of our loyal Sony family members. Rest assured, we've raised your feedback to the relevant departments for future considerations.
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia @Sony Support UK

0

Great sound and camera

Xperia 5 III 16 April 2022 by flrojashernandez (United Kingdom)

Single world describes this smartphone, AMAZING... LOVE the Green color

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Light phone and love everything about it

XQ-BQ72/G2SEAC2 10 April 2022 by sw88 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very light to hold. Loved the design. Great camera quality and sound.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great feature all round amazing phone

Xperia 5 III 06 April 2022 by Bambamsammy (United Kingdom)

I have had mine 2 weeks and couldn't be happier with it

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great phone

Xperia 5 III 29 March 2022 by Dom11 (United Kingdom)

I got this as a upgrade and I am glad I did its very fast and the pictures look amazing

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I used to love Xperia but this one.....

XQ-BQ72/G2SEAC2 27 March 2022 by Muz92 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

- points: overpriced, hp gets heat up too easily, no timelapse feature for camera, no gallery album, the options/widget offered on the top of the screen isnt much and we can't add on what we want e.g switching on/off NFC easily, you have to click into the connection settings first and then to NFC settings, so troublesome especially when you have to pay using hp. A bit confusing setting up the sound settings for the phone, there are no choices for silent/on sound/vibrate, rather just a general page to play around with the volume, due to that i can barely hear the alarm, torch light is so dim, like a spoilt bulb, front camera when video it just makes ur face so big into the screen and not the quality i was expecting for Sony as a camera phone, when audio/music played at the highest volume sounds like its covered by something, overall very unsatisfied with the hp for a $1.5k sgd. + points: camera has M/S/P features. Long battery life.

Performance

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

great screen & fast phone with very good battery

Xperia 5 III 23 March 2022 by DigiVortX (United Kingdom)

I chose this Xperia 5 iii as had enough of the bad battery life with my iPhone 12 & had enough of IOS not really working well with windows and so decided to move back to Android which now means I can control phone, texts, calendar either on phone or computer. One of the things I was a good screen but not huge 6.5"+ & saw this was slightly thinner altho longer than the iPhone & is perfect size sits in my hand comfortably & the touch senser on side is easy to use with my finger. Performance wise the battery lasted 6 days compared to iPhone only getting 48 hours max even when not using it. Going back to Android has been painless and massive improvement from the last time I used probably 10 years ago, glad I chose this phone as exceeded my expectations from what I thought it would be like.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Xperia 5iii top Banana

Xperia 5 III 05 March 2022 by Gustolad (United Kingdom)

Love this Xperia 5iii. I have used iOS and Android previously and find this phone ticks all the boxes for me. Compact but not too small, in my eyes better than my previous Xperia 1 which was a tall handset, this 5iii is slick easy to use, fast and responsive with great screen refresh. Good memory that you can expand. Battery life seems good with no issues. Great build quality and feels good, I recommend a cover as can be quite slippery, the Sony cover fits well and good quality, slightly on the expensive side but I shopped about and got it a lot cheaper for the genuine cover. Overall great phone that I'd recommend as I've used previously Sony phones, Apple phones and Samsung phones. Great work Sony as with the phone you get a great camera and a great set up if you like music. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Powerful smartphone

Xperia 5 III 28 February 2022 by Summer se (United Kingdom)

Great phone. Love camera function and screen high refresh rate. Always use Sony as it is reliable and last many years.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Very happy

Xperia 5 III 28 February 2022 by Sparker07 (United Kingdom)

Very happy with my Experia, I have had a Samsung for about 6 years but wanted a change. The phone is simpler less complicated than my previous phones which is actually refreshing and sits in my hand much more comfortably. Still loads of features I need to use but so far so good

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

great screen and ease of use

XQ-BQ72/G2SEAC2 24 February 2022 by SingMC (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Takes a few minutes to get used to the "long"screen but it is very functional. Taking some time to get used to operating system (slightly different from my old Xperia) but overall an excellent phone

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great phone

Xperia 5 III 22 February 2022 by SHOBEDA (United Kingdom)

Had for almost a few weeks now absolutely love my phone easy to use great features highly recommend looking forward to trying my free headphones with it expecting good quality sound especially as my last Xperia didn't have a headphone port.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Picture quality

Xperia 5 III 22 February 2022 by Slugger_27 (United Kingdom)

I've always had Sony phones and I wasn't disappointed with this one either looks great fantastic screen quality and picture resolution also comes with a photo and video editing sound quality is also fantastic

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

A Great Flagship

Xperia 5 III 19 February 2022 by Zed2022 (United Kingdom)

A great flagship in a more compact size. Plus it has features other flagships have dropped like a headphone jack with full IP68 rating and Micro SD card expansion.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Lightning fast at a great cost

Xperia 5 III 16 February 2022 by PeterG23 (United Kingdom)

Upgraded to this phone from an Xperia 1I and thought it might be a bit slow compared to the 1 I (and didn't want to upgrade to the 1III due to the increase in the price with limited increase in features that were attractive to me) but I've been pleasantly surprised and it's much faster and more responsive than I thought. The screen, sound and size are amazing and I haven't found a single thing that I don't like about this phone!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great features

XQ-BQ72/G2SEAC2 13 February 2022 by Jtham (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Absolutely beautiful and sleek design. Loved the compact size for it’s easy to use even with one hand (for me who have short fingers without using the one~handed mode feature). Long battery span. Hope to see improvement on the brightness level to the screen when under bright sun.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice design

Xperia 5 III 12 February 2022 by Daryla09 (United Kingdom)

Got this phone as my ee upgrade ,I had previously had the Xperia 5II and have found both phones nice and comfortable to use ,and have not had any issues with this phone as of yet,very happy with the design.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great,super compact top series phone

Xperia 5 III 10 February 2022 by Metal1982 (United Kingdom)

Amazing,old school phone design!!!Working perfect!Sony's top quality

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

be aware of an upgrade to Android 12

Xperia 5 III 04 February 2022 by PABS63 (United Kingdom)

I have this phone since last october and is a great phone, but the phone had an self upgrade to android 12 last week and after was done, I couln't use the phone as the hopmepage started to flick everytime I tried to use the phone and didn't let me to to use it. So I had to go to an EE store and asked for assistance and staff said they weren't sure what was the issue, so I asked them to put me on line with the technical support team, as they did and after spook with them, they weren't sure either and advised me to do an factory reset as did and work, but I lost alots of information and apps in the process, but was the only way to make the phone work as started from scratch. Sony when decide to upgrade phones should do the adequates tests before to try to avoid issues like my, after all my Sony is pretty new...

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

Response From Sony Support Team
07 February 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with your Xperia 5 lll.
We'd like to highlight the this matter is being under investigation with our engineers to release a software update to solve the Xperia Home app issue. In case you're still facing an issue with the Xperia Home App, as a work around, try the following steps: if you get an error message says" Xperia Home App is crashing" and there is "App info" option, press on > App info> Storage> Clear cache> Manage space> Ok> One step back> Force stop.
If that didn't work, please try the steps in this link: https://bit.ly/34caOpV
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony UK

0

No impressed

Xperia 5 III 02 February 2022 by Jimho27 (United Kingdom)

I got this as the Expria 1 iii wasn't available from my provider at the time this has been sent back twice now for repair as i can't get a signal in my house even though i have excellent service inside and outside and my 4 year old experia 1 works fine in my house?????? Hope it can be fixed this time

Performance

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony Support Team
04 February 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with your Xperia 5 lll.
If you're still facing an issue with your phone after the repair, we would like to be able to offer some assistance,
so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Omnia@ Sony UK

0

Slick design and crystal clear performance

XQ-BQ72/G2SEAC2 02 February 2022 by ahhkhoo (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Never regrets buying and using for my daily usage.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Device

XQ-BQ72/G2SEAC2 29 January 2022  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from the Xperia 5, the device retains the familiar size and feel on the outside. Internally, everything else is an upgrade. Camera is much improved, the Pro softwares offer amazing controls in both photography and videography, making the most of the advanced camera hardware.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb smartphone for photographers!

Xperia 5 III 25 January 2022 by realj42 (United Kingdom)

A great phone with a superb camera system. This is a smart, refined all round phone but the camera system is what should get your attention. With 4 optical focal lengths - from super wide 16mm to 105mm it takes great, clear and natural photographs. I particularly like the clean and natural look of the phots, with very little processing done by the phone. This may not suit all especially if you want a simple point and forget type of camera phone - it is best suited to those who know a bit about photography. As for the rest of the featurs it is a nice phone to hold in the hand, being taller and narrower than most. The audio system wotks well with clear speech for calls and excellent front facing speakers so can be used for listening to music without headphones, where appropriate! Another thing I like is the clean UI, pretty much pure android with few if any customizations. Android 12 has been released for the phone so it is fully up to date. Games also run smoothly so the system seems pretty powerful.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Great phone, but....

Xperia 5 III 23 January 2022 by Thomas2717 (United Kingdom)

Great phone with one big problem. It keeps switching itself off during times of heavy load and even time of not, but the major problem is when it gets stuck in a reboot loop and even the phone shop guys can only resort to factory resetting it. I've had to do this 2 times in 3 and a half month of having it. 3 stars is for the amazing camera loses two for the annoying restarting issue. Many would have rated more harsh than I have. Hopefully future updates fix this but I'm not holding my breath

Performance

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

Response From Sony Support Team
02 February 2022

Hi Thomas2717,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with your Xperia 5 lll.
We recommend that you perform software repair by the Xperia Companion. You'll just need a PC or Laptop for this step and you'll need to backup your data and remember the Google account registered on the device. You can install Xperia Companion from this link: https://bit.ly/3bFvGX6
And you can follow the instructions in this video for the software repair: https://bit.ly/3whYBZ8
Also, you can check this link for the backup instructions: https://bit.ly/3xMc4cS
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony UK

0

Worst Sony

Xperia 5 III 18 January 2022 by dongambini (United Kingdom)

Keeps on crashing Apps don't power up Refuses to restart It's a mess awating for the latest update

Performance

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony Support Team
20 January 2022

Hi ,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with your Xperia 5 lll.
You can perform the steps in this link as an attempt to resolve the issue: https://bit.ly/35d2d6J
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony UK

0

Great camera but easily over heat

XQ-BQ72/G2SEAC2 18 January 2022 by ESYH (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used it about a month and found out that the phone tends to easily overheat. I love the size of the screen as it is slim and not too big. There are no functions like twin app available in Sony although they offer dual sim. I love the photo taking through this phone as it close to reality.

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Very nearly brilliant

Xperia 5 III 15 January 2022 by 4jpwan (United Kingdom)

From the two weeks ownership, the camera, the screen, the charging and the ergonomics really stand out. Dislike the heat, UI* and app widgets. I’m not a photographer because I don’t understand what the multitude of features are used for but I have never seen so much adjustability and scope in the settings. Its obvious that you would benefit if you have even the slightest idea what to do but again, I’ll leave that with the pros. Straight off the bat, the dedicated camera button is delightfully placed and feels great to use. Off the bat results are great too with minimal blur and noise. App is also quick to fire up in. Visuals are on point, never seen something quite this clear a vivid for the screen. Speechless really! Just nailed it and you really cant believe it until you see it. Charging is actually as fast as mentioned and there is a longevity setting. Time will tell but I doubt this setting would be available if there wasn’t some testing and benefit to the user. Either way, promising to buy a finite product which allows users to lengthen usable life term. Super fast charging but as I value the 120hz refresh, battery is average in my use. It’s a long a narrow phone but coming from a phone that was the same length but fatter and heavier, this is a pleasant surprise. Definitely try in hand in a shop as it’s not the typical dimensions but I love a change. Easy to cycle with and fine in pockets. Just feels great in the hands and you just know it’s a well-designed phone. If you don’t know this feeling, you’ve simply never had an outstanding phone, fit for your needs. It does get hot enough for you to think something is amiss but it isn’t. All works as well as it should. Charging, hot spotting, calling and web surfing was the most I asked simultaneously and it got hot but never slowed. Just not that pleasant because I know I’m adding my own heat into the equation when holding it. Otherwise, a great hand warmer. Occurs anytime heavy apps/ multiple apps are used but yet experience bogging. UI is consistent to the UI of old and very familiar but very little customisation. Praying its not just because it’s a new phone but I miss playing with themes, app appearance, and (specific to the LG V30+) there are no additions such as infinite wallpaper scroll, battery setting it the notification bar, quick RAM wipe/close down all apps in one press, customisation for button actions and side sense limitations for the same reason. The last is a great idea and it really helps with quick actions but shame that its limited to very few apps on really great features like multi screen selection. Might be the brand or might be the apps or both but the limited apps stumps the great execution. Great idea, needs more apps. Limited apps for screen widgets also losses points as I like an on screen calculator with various weather data. Just me but as its my phone, it’s a shame I’m again limited when a yesteryear phone gave all this anyway. I had expectations and although most are met and some surprises are welcome, I feel this lacks the edge for customisation. Great looking phone physically and from the screen and rapid charge is brilliant for the faster lives we live. I used GSM Arena’s review to compare and make my judgement. Not employed or paid by them but I would recommend looking there to see what this phone has to give.

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

Response From Sony Support Team
17 January 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Xperia 5 lll.
We highly appreciate you feedback and we've raised it to the relevant channels for future considerations and developments.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony UK

0

Great performance and Perfect Size

XQ-BQ72/G2SEAC2 14 January 2022 by Jason Hew (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pretty satisfied in almost all aspects after I bought 3 weeks ago. Smooth operation and powerful performance, light weight and compact for daily use, and premium designed. The audio quality is very good, especially paired with my Sony WF-1000XM3 headphone. It has good battery performance, and I like the battery care feature which can stopped the overcharging of the battery to maintain the battery lifespan. Sony smartphones always have very good battery lifespan and performance, just like my previous Xperia XZ2 phone.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good performance and compact body

XQ-BQ72/G2SEAC2 12 January 2022 by Core CNX (Thailand) Verified Purchaser Verified

1. Good for small number of SONY original applications. 2. Quick recharge battery and buttery is enough for one day use. 3. Useful Camera button, it is very convenience 4. Useless Google assistant button. 5. Face camera is out of date. 6. Fun to use camera.

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great phone

Xperia 5 III 11 January 2022 by Antony31 (United Kingdom)

Just love Sony phones.easy to use look fantastic feel good in your hand.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Phone is Non-responsive and It Hangs.

XQ-BQ72/G2SEAC2 11 January 2022 by Hoch2828 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this phone less than 1 month ago. When all is finally set-up, I discovered that the phone is intermittently non-responsive when opening apps such as Whatsapp, photo album, LinkedIn, Music player, etc, etc.... I sent phone back to Sony Service Centre at 313 for trouble-shooting & repair within the week. The service centre technician responded in less than 1 week saying he was not able to detect any defect with the phone. He rebooted and reinstalled the phone operating system requesting that I re-setup the phone to verify. I re-setup the phone and re-installed the required Apps. However, the phone still exhibits intermittent unresponsiveness up till this day. The phone also hangs ever so often and I have to force re-start the phone whenever this happens. I must say that this is the worst Sony phone model that I have ever owned after so many years of trust and confidence in Sony products. I believe this particular unit must be one of the few defective ones released from the factory. This is very frustrating & disappointing. How I wish Sony could replace this defective Xperia 5 III phone with a brand new working one in order to restore my confidence in Sony phones!

Performance

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good phone

Xperia 5 III 10 January 2022 by Double C (United Kingdom)

Had the Sony 5 compact and wanted to upgrade. Thought the 5 111 would be bigger but virtually the same size. Sound quality good and screen is slightly clearer. I am a fan of Sony phones and not disappointed at all by this new model. Great phone only one point and 128 GB is a bit small. Camera is superb better than the old model.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

Response From Sony Support Team
12 January 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Xperia 5 lll and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come.
We highly appreciate your feedback and we've raised it to the relevant channels for future considerations.
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony UK

0

Nice phone

Xperia 5 III 09 January 2022 by Dml17 (United Kingdom)

Wanted to upgrade from my old Xperia L4. After lengthy reviewing decided this one. Very nice phone. Performance is great very quick compared to the L4. Camera is much better too! Would prefer a slightly thicker/weightier phone, sometimes it feels a little too lightweight in hand which at times makes it easier to drop, hence the 4 stars. But that is really nit picking...

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony Support Team
12 January 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Xperia 5 lll.
We recommend using a compatible cover and screen protector with your device to prevent any damage that could happen. However, we highly appreciate your feedback and we've raised it to the relevant channels for future considerations and developments.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony UK

0

Great

XQ-BQ72/G2SEAC2 08 January 2022 by Rico Lee (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Smooth and handy to use, no major setbacks or bugs so far. The long and sleek body design + screen is a boon once get used to it. A single charge lasts more than 5hrs of screen-on operations. Require higher capacity charging output, preferably PD standard chargers + cable. Otherwise, it will draw power in very slowly. A dedicated shutter button is a genuinely nice and niche experience if you like photography. The photo result is natural, albeit a little slow when taking/writing/buffering. Single LED flash is a bit dim when using as torch light. Advanced mode for camera app is very intuitive and familiar for photogs. Audio jack makes it still possible to connect to some analogue high-end headsets.

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

Super fast Sony

Xperia 5 III 03 January 2022 by jockb (United Kingdom)

The Xperia 5 iii is a delight to use. Super fast, crystal clear, great battery and every other feature is class!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

A great phone for those who know what they want

XQ-BQ72/G2SEAC2 02 January 2022  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

A nice little compact phone with good performance, battery life, 3.5mm jack, microSD card slot, and a nice set of cameras (especially for videos). It's a package that is hard to find in the market these days. Also like the taller screen too.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

No great improvement

Xperia 5 III 30 December 2021 by JT52xxx (United Kingdom)

Upgraded to this model and there is no real difference to my last one, aside from the poorer responding fingerprint identification pad, and in a rubbish position. Handset is lighter tho and the only real positive was free noise cancelling headphones.

Performance

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

Response From Sony Support Team
03 January 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with your Xperia 5 lll.
We highly appreciate your valued feedback and we've raised it to the relevant channels for future considerations & developments.
Regarding the fingerprint issue, try to perform the fingerprint sensor issue from the support app, you can go to Settings> Support> Xperia tests> Fingerprint sensor test.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony Support UK

0

I'm glued to the screen

Xperia 5 III 29 December 2021 by NickelMatt (United Kingdom)

I was skeptical about the 21:9 aspect ratio, coming from the XZ1 which is a lot more boxy, but I'm actually happy with it! It's nice and wide while gaming, you can fullscreen 21:9 videos without black bars. I am however disappointed that I can't turn high refresh rate on, the setting is greyed out for me, but in games, the refresh rate is bumped up to 240hz (apparently, not sure I believe that) I'm experiencing a funny sound bug where watching looping videos on tiktok, the sound would completely distort the second time the video loops, but scrolling to the next video stops the distortion.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony Support Team
03 January 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Xperia 5 lll.
Regarding the refresh rate and the sound distortion issues, please try to enable your device on safe mode and check if the same issues remain or not. You can follow the steps in this link for the safe mode instructions: https://bit.ly/3i6RJcN
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony Support UK

0

Built only for Photographers and media consumers

Xperia 5 III 29 December 2021 by Sumesh563 (United Kingdom)

I bought this phone to satiate my hunger for photography and I do not regret buying it. A humble note: This phone is not for basic users, it is focused for photography enthusiasts only. CAMERA: The Manual controls in the Photo Pro App is unmatched in the market, perfect for Long exposure photography. Talking about videography, honestly, I did not get time to test Cinema Pro app yet but I will have a look at it asap, however, on having a glimpse of the app and I found that the Cinema Pro lacks many features which are available on Video Pro app available only on Xperia Pro-I. I hope Sony will make it available for Xperia 5III soon. I have attached some of the best pictures I have taken and one video made with Cinema Pro app at 4k@120fps with this review. MEDIA Experience: Turn on Dolby Atmos in Audio settings and there you go! Watching a movie on this phone is no less dramatic than watching it in theatre, thanks to the front facing stereo speakers! I loved watching STAR WARS series in the 21:9 aspect ratio screen, the movie seemed fuller on the flat screen with no distraction of any notch or punch hole. DISPLAY: The display is excellent and turning on Creator Mode in display settings make the colors of the movie more cinematic but I recommend using Auto Creator Mode. Refresh rate: I rarely use 120hz mode as I am not a gamer but it does make everything butter smooth. I will try playing COD and then I will comment on the touching sampling refresh rate, for now, I have nothing to say about it. AUDIO: Again, turn on Dolby Atmos setting to get best clarity, loudness and bass from the speakers, turning it off lowers the loudness and sound quality of the speakers. 3.5mm is like cherry on the top of the cake, always good to have when you get Hi-Res noise cancelling WH-910N wireless/wired headphones which comes free with the phone and is absolutely brilliant! Audio Streaming apps: First of all, I recommend turning off Dolby Atmos if you like to listen in 360 Reality Audio as it makes the background music a bit mushy. I have tried three apps on 3 months free trial: Amazon Music Tidal Deezer. I listen to songs in highest settings which are: Ultra HD(Amazon Music), Master(Tidal) High Fidelity (Deezer) Out of three, Deezer has the best compatibility with 360 Reality Audio as each and every instrument including the voice of the artist are well balanced. On Amazon Music and Tidal, the voice of the artist feels compressed and low and doesn't fit with the loudness of the background music. I recommend DEEZER if you want to get the best experience of 360 Reality Audio on WH-910N. Once you start listening in 360 RA, then there's no coming back. ❣️❣️ BATTERY: I find battery life to be extremely good when consuming media but the battery drains very fast when it is on standby. I turned off many battery settings but I couldn't troubleshoot the problem. I request Sony to solve this problem in next software update.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

33

1

0

New phone

Xperia 5 III 28 December 2021 by Dean 1967 (United Kingdom)

Previous phone was zx3 well happy with that.this one even better sits in your hand easyer.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent but not as small as I would like

Xperia 5 III 27 December 2021 by Joe9367 (United Kingdom)

Don't buy this phone thinking it's as compact as the xz1 compact, it's compact compared to most phones out there but still biggish.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
29 December 2021

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Xperia 5 lll.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony Support UK

0

Great phone

Xperia 5 III 27 December 2021 by Gainsguy (United Kingdom)

The camera is awesome and the sound quality is amazing two of the reasons why I personally always go for a Sony phone but I would say I'm not happy with Sony as after purchasing this phone last month they have now started to give away top spec headphones with them where's mine Sony ?

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super fast phone

Xperia 5 III 27 December 2021 by Kaprun (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace my Xperia E5 which was 5 years old. This my third Sony mobile phone. I had done lots of desk top research and although it was more expensive than I had planned it is very good, apart from the built in apps (games, etc) which I can not delete. My only real dislike is the notification light which I can not switch off. The camera is excellent. Overall I am delighted.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony Xperia 5iii - One of the best compact phones

Xperia 5 III 26 December 2021 by KTBygo (United Kingdom)

The performance, design and size are perfect on this phone. However, no point of the dedicated Google assistant button. The camera once a few editing is made, becomes very good. However the unedited version is quite dull, which is why most reviewers give it a bad score. However, I feel with a little software update, phones on the basic mode can become great, this combined with the amazing camera hardware would be best in class. The is identical to the selfie camera, the photos are always over exposed and skin tone is very light, but eye focus is very good and again, once edited you can get some really nice shots. Therefore the basic mode should be changed, in similar to pixel phones, for better photos without editing.

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

Response From Sony Support Team
28 December 2021

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Xperia 5 lll.
We highly appreciate your feedback regarding the camera and the Google assistant button, we've raised it to the relevant channels for future developments and considerations.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony Support UK

0

Great sound and features

Xperia 5 III 24 December 2021 by Lealea (United Kingdom)

Ive had only two weeks amazing phone love the sound when i play music like the green colour of the phone ive always had sony phones and will keep getting them and free headphones are great.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great overall phone

Xperia 5 III 24 December 2021 by Old git 37 (United Kingdom)

I bought the phone 2_3weeks ago.Slippy but nice to handle.A good size,not heavy,carry in pocket easily.It is quick,clear screen but rich in colour.Not had much chance to use camera.So far ,very happy with xperia5 iii. Last phone was Samsung's s21.had for six months,Heavy,kept freezing,did not always give what I asked for. Sony is a delight in comparison. Paul.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Xperia 5 lll, best yet!

Xperia 5 III 24 December 2021 by CasLad53 (United Kingdom)

Been a fax of Sony Xperia for years, but this Xperia 5 lll, WOW! Screen is clear and sharp, functionality better than ever. Transferring data from my old Sony Xperia to the 5lll was so easy. Well done Sony.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0