26

4.3 based on 26 customer reviews

14
7
4
1
0
Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Excellent phone

256GB 21 July 2022 by MJ_QaTaR (United Kingdom)

I pre-ordered the phone and received a free Sony WH-1000M4. Loved the phone and the improvements one the camera are noticeable. I only wish it received support in the Middle East because I can't use 5G services due to Sony Mobile not supporting Middle East market.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Heat generator

256GB 03 July 2022 by Vince1234 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this phone hoping it would be the ultimate of all flagships, but turns out the heat management is really poor, Samsung s22 ultra with the same chipset can do it well but why Sony never even bother to try?

Performance

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

6

0

26 Customer Reviews

0

Worth The Wait!

512 GB 28 September 2022 by macddx (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm not a Sony fanboy by any means or reason, but I am a bit of a techy and I have enjoyed the Xperia line for as long as I can remember. I was a big fan of the small form factor phones at some point, but Sony discontinued them and I thought that was a big let down. Anyway, the new 21:9 form factor made it easy for me to transition from the mini size because the width of the new Xperia's made it easy to hold them. Fast forward to 2022, I am in awe of the new X1 IV because of the camera system. This product came just in time when I gifted my Sony alpha camera to my niece and I was left with nothing... until now. I'm not saying that this will replace the dslr. I just like the convenience of a high spec camera on a phone for my immediate needs.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice but overpriced

512 GB 20 September 2022 by dzflores (USA)

Sony really really needs to get on the ball and release these phones immediately after announcing them. This phone was announced back in June 2022 and available for sale in the US 5 months later. By now the phone is ALREADY outdated and hasn't even gone on sale yet. Also, i paid full retail of 16hundred and i'm sure it will go on huge sales soon after release. Sony needs to put these phones on sale immediately after announcing them and adjust the price to align with the market. They probably would increase their sales but 500% if they did those two simple things. Peace

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Good Phone but too expensive

256GB 05 September 2022 by manhuan (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm so happy with the phone that I bought. It has very a sophisticated camera and the picture is stunning and perfect. The speakers and screen is clear and nice. However, it's too expensive for the flagship phone that are lagging and overheating when gaming. The price is almost same with iphone and samsung but the specs are less good compare to them. And most importantly is it doesn't come with a charger or even charging wire.

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Happy

256GB 31 August 2022 by Jez1 (United Kingdom)

Lovely slim phone, good camera so far, looks cool too! Upgraded from Xperia 1 II, speed and call reliability is better, and now with the full range of 5G bands.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Awesome experience

256GB 30 August 2022 by Beauty masterpiece (United Kingdom)

A brilliant phone all round very smooth and snappy responsive. 4k picture and movie quality are amazing can really see details when zoomed into pictures. The camera is fantastic both capturing and video recordings. Sony's music app allong with its built in equaliser makes moves and music a reall pleasure again along with the new speakers they've put in. I got a software update which 8 can confirm has resolved the heating issue I know has caused a lot of upset for people and for some may have put off from buying. Once. again the heating is resolved with the lastest software update. ☺️ Thank you Sony for another masterpiece.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Poor audio experience

256GB 30 August 2022 by Anew1ivuser (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

For such an expensive device the audio speakers are a HUGE letdown. No idea why sony won't incorporate a DAC or better speakers

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Xperia 1IV

256GB 24 August 2022 by Mr ILOVESONY (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this phone because i dropped and cracked my Xperia ii . To be honest.. mark ii feels faster and some of its simple functions are actually better but is not available on the mark iv. Example watching YouTube small screen while doin other stuff and it doesn't have listening function button which i always use because I like listening to the video while opening other apps. Other issues i have is when the phone has sudden pauses during video streaming n calls .. not sure it's the phone or the telco im using.. or both.. cause sometimes it just hangs.. switching from 4G to 5G n vice versa.. and just hangs. Need to restart phone after that.. Camera, video and sound functions are fun as usual.. no complaints there.. overall a fun phone !! ;)

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb!

256GB 23 August 2022 by AHalim (Malaysia)

Honestly, I'm in doubt when I bought this phone. But I'm really grateful, because this is not just a phone, but the masterpiece! Although it's getting hot quite quick, but I haven't experienced any untouchable phone experience except a warning notification. Photography & 4K videography experiences are superb! I love photo & video outputs. It really delivers what it promises. Battery? I can get a day & half! Multimedia experience is also insane! Now, I really love this beast.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good overall phone

256GB 22 August 2022 by Naushad (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Phone's minimalistic and good. Love the stock android experience.. Camera software is complicated. Shoots good raw pictures, but have AI enhancement like pixel and samsung phones would make this phone an absolute winner.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent photo images and impressive sound system

256GB 11 August 2022 by WHFong (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Notice the Mobile getting quite warm and uncomfortable on the left screen area when playing just single Mobile Legend match(~20-35mins). The photo Macro image zoom still room for improvement. Thanks for continually improve and support user reviews.

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best Sony HP

256GB 07 August 2022 by Leo Poh (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the power button/fingerprint sensor, it unlocks the phone very fast. the camera is excellent. would give 5 stars but some of the apps tend to freeze or not launch

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent design and specifications

256GB 03 August 2022 by Jason Anthony (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was using the Xperia 1ii before upgrading to this Xperia 1iv. I like the matte finish on the back compared to the previous model. I love the specification and design of the phone. My only suggestion is Sony should try to use more scratch resistant material for the back and frame is the next model, maybe ceramic.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Excellent phone

256GB 21 July 2022 by MJ_QaTaR (United Kingdom)

I pre-ordered the phone and received a free Sony WH-1000M4. Loved the phone and the improvements one the camera are noticeable. I only wish it received support in the Middle East because I can't use 5G services due to Sony Mobile not supporting Middle East market.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Great Camera

256GB 20 July 2022 by ATM90 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall feature great but heat issue need to improve.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony Singapore service team
26 July 2022

HI ATM90,

We appreciate your feedback and wish to assist you further. Please contact us @ the link below for further support
https://web.sony-asia.com/sg/contact-us/

Sony Singapore service team

0

I LIKE THIS XPERIA 1 MARK IV VERY MUCH.

256GB 17 July 2022 by Kamen rider Kabuto (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I hope next time Xperia 1 mark 5 don't use snapdragon gen 1. Because play game very fast hot . But battery stamina very nice

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Light

256GB 12 July 2022 by Zammit (United Kingdom)

Just bought this mobile yesterday and it's easy to set up by myself

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

3

Response From Sony Support Team
14 July 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Xperia 1 IV and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're delighted to keep you as one of our loyal Sony family members.
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Elshahat @Sony Support UK

0

Good Look! But Bad Heating

256GB 06 July 2022 by ghanta1996 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using it since one month. Phone just heats up even for simple daily tasks like listening music and making video call. I can never use 120Hz because phone is always hot. What's the point in giving 120Hz when cannot use it? If not 120Hz give at least 90H?? Phone's thermal never go below 40 degrees sometimes it's even above 60 degrees which is really really worse to expect in a flagship mobile.

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

great camera

256GB 04 July 2022 by Thomas2022 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I think it needs improvement Feels like an improved version of mark 3

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great phone for photography and mobile gaming

256GB 04 July 2022 by AndrewL76 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using a Xperia 1ii and the 1iv has been a decent upgrade. The new camera features are great as well as the new camera app which is more responsive than the older one. It also great that 5G finally works for me since the 1ii doesn't seem to support 5g locally.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Heat generator

256GB 03 July 2022 by Vince1234 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this phone hoping it would be the ultimate of all flagships, but turns out the heat management is really poor, Samsung s22 ultra with the same chipset can do it well but why Sony never even bother to try?

Performance

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

6

0

Response From Sony Singapore service team
05 July 2022

Hi Vince1234,

We appreciate your feedback and wish to assist you further. I would suggest that you may send in to our service center at the location below for further diagnosing
Sony care 313 @ Somerset
Address: #02-28 to 37, 313 Somerset Road, Singapore 238895
Operation Hours : 11am-8pm (Mon - Sun)
This is a walk in service no appointment is required.

Sony Singapore service team

0

Overall Experience

256GB 29 June 2022 by Samuel Tan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this phone since 11th this month. In general, its a good daily phone to use. It`s size and weight is a huge highlight. I had tried use some of videography and photography functions it works akin to an actual digital camera. However, both the heat management and overheating limitations seems overtly caution. So far, I had encountered "hot" to touch with and without video functions in use without a phone case. this is partly offset by using a phone case. Then the phone does more then often find a number of of its focusing features disabled due to overheat limitations. I do appreciate this could be resolve via software means.

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Response From Sony Singapore service team
05 July 2022

HI Samuel Tan,

We appreciate your feedback and wish to assist you further.I would suggest that you may send in to our service center at the location below for further diagnosing
Sony care 313 @ Somerset
Address: #02-28 to 37, 313 Somerset Road, Singapore 238895
Operation Hours : 11am-8pm (Mon - Sun)
This is a walk in service no appointment is required.

Sony Singapore service team

0

Good but the cost is not justified

256GB 28 June 2022 by Pablito_ita (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought in Singapore going back to Italy. I Like the speed (compared to my old Xperia ), photo modes. Don't like photo album only from Google, is overheating very soon, cinema pro does not make sense on a mobile phone, too complicated .

Performance

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Xperia 1iv

256GB 21 June 2022 by JJhc (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super sharp screen and excellent camera. The form factor is great to hold battery life ia decently good for 1 day use.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Overheating issues.

256GB 20 June 2022 by Chewy26 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tried doing 4k 120fps video recording using video pro app for 4mins. Phone heats up and exits application. Prompting the overheating message.

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Response From Sony Singapore service team
21 June 2022

Hi Chewy26,

We appreciate your feedback and wish to assist you further. I would suggest that you may send in to our service center at the location below for further diagnosing
Sony care 313 @ Somerset
Address: #02-28 to 37, 313 Somerset Road, Singapore 238895
Operation Hours : 11am-8pm (Mon - Sun)
This is a walk in service no appointment is required.


Sony Singapore service team

0

Just SONY, whet else

256GB 13 June 2022 by Gavallo (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Another great Mobile from SONY. Worth the Price with all the new features.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best All Around Phone in the Market!

256GB 11 June 2022 by Air Penny (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this beast last week. The best all around phone in the market now. Photo, video, gaming, movie and sound are the best I have tried. Screen gets brighter now. Battery better too. Excellent work Sony!! Keep it up!!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0