Skip to Content

RM 6,499.00

(MYR Inc. GST)
15

4.3 based on 15 customer reviews

8
5
1
0
1
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A real step up

Body Only 01 January 2017 by Boatman83 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using the a6000 series for 2 years, from a6000 to a6300 and now the a6500. This is in addition to the previous full frame dslr that I've used. Let me tell you, this a6500 really feels like a solid workhorse. You can read the specs for yourself but in addition to that, I am confident that people can make money or win awards using this cam. From its handling to its usability and to its image quality (that's on par with full frame pics), you basically have a pro camera for a reasonable price. Yes, no cam is perfect and people may point out that it's apsc and looks small etc. But that's the beauty, you cannot find any other interchangeable lens camera that can beat it's power/results to weight/size ratio. What I'm paying for here is the ability to easily bring along with me a compact pro-level cam and photograph everyday. Literally everyday. And that's simply just remarkable!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good features, Bad touch screen

Body Only 21 January 2017 by luthey (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

My touch screen broke after 1 month! I just placed a bit of pressure on it to change lens and it cracked! Better get a screen protector. 4k finally doesn't overheat! But the menu arrangement needs a big makeover for it to get better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

15 Customer Reviews

0

Great Performance

Body Only 08 July 2017 by Abewaffles (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The viewfinder could perhaps be designed larger so users could reduce the strain on their eyes when looking through the already viewfinder. With respect to the body frame, perhaps it could be larger, on par to the a7series. The start-up timing was a little slow as well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lightning fast and feather light. Love it!

Body Only 08 July 2017 by EDO82 (Singapore)

I got this for travel and my back thanks me. I've always used full sized DSLRs before the a6500, but i'm not going back to full sized cameras again. This baby is half the weight, i can now bring double the number of lenses using my same bag, the AF is just as fast and the best part is that i came back from Spain with the most beautiful and vibrant pictures i'd ever taken. I believe this Sony has a lot to do with it. Love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazed myself

Body Only 28 April 2017 by eunice (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was more accustomed with the RX100 Mk3 and Mk4, so getting the a6500 is a quantum leap for me. I went to my fav Sony retailer and said "I want a camera that can take photos of my children's dragon boat races and videos of their stage performances at the Esplanade/Victoria Concert Hall" and I was recommended the a6500. So far, I've been amazed myself with the photos and videos that I was able to take with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

4k good - IBIS (steadyshot) vibration issue

Body Only 18 April 2017 by MrFrankieP (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

pros - 4k cons - Steadyshot has vibration issue. A lot of people are complaining, yet they dont take action. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XX6G-7_hPco https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=spLREugtBzs https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uDn8GYyuK1U https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H3jAq6t3YDM https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IPrCrJ8rJw4 DONT BUY! WASTE OF MONEY!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

105

1

0

No more bulky APS-C DSLRs

Body Only 13 March 2017 by Kirubakaran (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have always adored the image quality from DSLRs. But the problem with those DSLRs are they are too big and heavy to be carried around. In that aspect i really enjoyed using a6500. Its small and compact even when mounted with a lens and the image quality from the camera is on par with APS-C DSLRs. You can find sufficient number of quality native lens to support all your needs. There are two drawbacks though. One is battery life which drains fast. May not last for a day if you are a heavy user. The next one would be the screen. U can't use it to navigate through menus, the touch function is only for selecting focus points and its visibility is poor when using it outside during daytime. Other than the above two drawbacks this camera meets my expectations when compared with similar APS-C DSLRs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Huge evolution from a6300.

Body Only 13 March 2017 by cryptoandbettablogspot (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I traveling Malaysia and Indonesia tropical area with a6300 + SEL90M28G and a6500 + SEL70300G, HX300(for spare camera) All are small and light, satisfied with fine images just nice for nature photos and traveling. Waiting for coming new model Sony a7III ! .

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Big step up from A6000

Body Only 25 February 2017 by sgkoala (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was already happy with A6000 but wanted even better... the features that attracted me are: 1. IBIS - helps a lot for my unstabilised lenses (24/1.8, Samyang 12/2, and A-mount lenses) 2. Fast AF with A-mount SSM lenses (I already had Sigma 50-150/2.8 and Sony 70-300F and picked up a Sony 16-50/2.8) 3. Silent shutter, I love this feature to avoid disturbing other people. 4. EVF is much higher quality. 5. High ISO is improved especially less greenish hue when boosting shadows. 6. AF in Focus Magnifier is useful for precise focussing 7. Two additional custom buttons is great. On A6000 I assigned Eye AF, AF Area and AF type. I use the additional 2 buttons for Zoom (when in video or JPG) and Focus Mag. 8. 4K video. Stills captured from 4K video are of very high quality too. 9. Better Auto ISO implementation e.g. "Slow", "Slower" options make aperture priority mode more useful. 10. Touch screen for focus point selection. The best part is Sony kept the camera incredible compact, almost exact same size as the A6000, and it fits nicely with 1 lens (such as 16-70/4, 24/1.8 or 10-18/4) in the tiny LCS-BBF bag that I can take everywhere with me. Overall it feels like a polished product. In terms of room for improvement I would say the touch screen may not be the best as these days customers expect smartphone type gestures and responsiveness, but the touch screen can still come in handy at times. Also, it would be nice if the Clear Image Zoom could work with Raw instead of being limited to JPG only, and furthermore when in Clear Image Zoom you cannot specify the focus point and this is a curious limitation considering that AF now works in Focus Magnified view.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera! Great feature!

Body Only 21 February 2017  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

power full APSC mirrorless camera! Great feature for my videography job! you won't regret to bought it!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Consume too much battery. Nevertheless, it's great

Body Only 14 February 2017 by FreitagSG (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is quick, allows me to take sharp action shots. Works well in the night too.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Choice

Body Only 08 February 2017 by Suga (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I would like to work in a unique way. So, I just planned to buy a Sony a 6500. For that result really Amazing. Speechless

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So far so good

Body Only 25 January 2017 by soulforsoup (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the camera and it's features. Coming from a Canon 600D, the a6500 has been a blast using it and my clients have really enjoyed the clarity that comes from the downsampled 6k footage. However, I am still quite bothered by the overheating issue as this camera tends to get hot when shooting 4K video. It hasn't shut down on me so far, but the fear is still there. Also the menus are really convoluted and takes a bit of getting used to. Overall a good product if you can get over the menu and 4K overheating. If you're not using this camera for 4K, you'll find it an almost perfect mirror less system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Good features, Bad touch screen

Body Only 21 January 2017 by luthey (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

My touch screen broke after 1 month! I just placed a bit of pressure on it to change lens and it cracked! Better get a screen protector. 4k finally doesn't overheat! But the menu arrangement needs a big makeover for it to get better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

awesome for beginners like me

Body Only 13 January 2017 by Ameenoasid (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the camera for 2 weeks already and i can tell im gonna use this camera alot! The features are so intense and the quality (for me) is already good enough to take professional looking photos and videos. The features need some time to get use to but with online tutorial which can found on youtube, you can easily learn by yourself on the different settings for the camera. Although, some might not agree with me that this is the best camera for them but hey, nothing is perfect. So far there has been nothing but positive reviews that I have seen online, be it on youtube or facebook or any sort of that. The best thing that you need to know also is that the over-heating problem has been solved (i think). And I know this because there has been a few video test of the a6500 on youtube about this. Truthfully, I prefer that sony has made the camera's monitor to flip out to the side or upwards, so that at least if you are doing a vlog or capturing a video of yourself from the front, you know that you are in focus and in correct exposure. Also, Im not sure why but this sony camera doesnt come with a kit lens bundle. At least for me in my country. When I enquire to the sony staff, they said that sony doesnt have the kit lens sold seperately for the A6500. Due to this 2 issues, this is why I rate 4 stars instead of 5.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Lightweight APS-C Flagship Camera

Body Only 10 January 2017 by Yew99 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent image quality and very fast autofocus but lack of 1/8000 mechanical shutter speed which other competitors are offering right now. Physical built is good to handle, will be perfect if the camera is weight centered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A real step up

Body Only 01 January 2017 by Boatman83 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using the a6000 series for 2 years, from a6000 to a6300 and now the a6500. This is in addition to the previous full frame dslr that I've used. Let me tell you, this a6500 really feels like a solid workhorse. You can read the specs for yourself but in addition to that, I am confident that people can make money or win awards using this cam. From its handling to its usability and to its image quality (that's on par with full frame pics), you basically have a pro camera for a reasonable price. Yes, no cam is perfect and people may point out that it's apsc and looks small etc. But that's the beauty, you cannot find any other interchangeable lens camera that can beat it's power/results to weight/size ratio. What I'm paying for here is the ability to easily bring along with me a compact pro-level cam and photograph everyday. Literally everyday. And that's simply just remarkable!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0