MDR-1AM2 HEADPHONES

Product Reviews

RM 1,299.00

8

4.8 based on 8 customer reviews

6
2
0
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

8 Customer Reviews

0

It is a great headphone to be use by all people

MDR-1AM2/BQ E 28 May 2019 by Fly7wild (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was glad i spent almost thousand dollars and it is very worth it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great sounding after EQ'd

MDR-1AM2/SQ E 15 April 2019 by CepSafwan (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

so first thing first, i am a guy who prefers great vocals in a headphone, but at the same time having good presentation of musical instruments as well. At first,these phone sounds terrible. bloated bass, thin mids, mashed treble that are just there, no details in sound at all, and sibilance everywhere. Everything is so jumbled up. Had to turn the volume up to hear the details i want. I even had my regrets after i bought these. I even having that thought of selling is back. lol Then i let it play different sounds and songs for a week plus, then it slowly changed! The bass are now controlled and there is no more annoying bass bump. Mids are becoming more forward. treble, though are not perfect, are becoming more clear and clean. instrumental separation are great. But still, it is still high in bass for me. had to EQ down the bass and a bit of treble to make it more comfortable for hearing. now its more balanced and great. the comfort, are the best. it is light, and though many reviews are saying that the earcups are quite small, for me it is perfect. the padding is soft and airy however, got sweaty if used in hot condition. breaking is are vital for these to sound best. i dont usually believe in breaking ins, but comparing to my sony N3 that i have been using for these year, i can say that i am not just adapted to the sound, but the sound did really change to the better after some usage! on conclusion, the sound isnt impressive for me, but it is real good. for the price, its just okay if you love sony signature, but i got these on massive sale, so its worth it. if you are really critical for a nice sounding perfect phone, go for higher end. but it will definitely be more costly.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Audiophile Headphones Under RM1,000

MDR-1AM2/SQ E 16 December 2018 by roeslan (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this headphone for 4 weeks already after longing for it since March 2018 Finally bought it last month after price went down by RM300 (~USD75) since launch. I've been "critically listening" to music for almost 40 years using equalizer, sound editor, etc (even though I don't consider myself an audiophile per se) and I honestly say this is the best headphone I've come across - to the point that I want to re-listen all my tracks for over the last 3-4 decades! I've tried other headphones, even more expensive models like flagship MDR-Z1R and new ANC champion, 1000XM3 but neither one can beat the MDR-1AM2 when it comes to sound quality. The MDR-1AM2 is almost perfect - 1) the bass is excellent, tight & punchy, 2) the mid-range is clear & crisp making vocals distinct & precise while 3) the treble is very good with bit of "rolling off" & not too sharp to the point that it hurts your ears eg. too much sibilance. Overall, under hi-res settings on my Xperia Z5 Premium (without EQ), the MDR-1AM2 is a very balanced headphone with bit of that Sony deep low-bass signature, natural mids and smooth highs. I would highly recommend this headphone...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Best Audiophile Headphones Under RM1,000

MDR-1AM2 16 November 2018 by roeslan (Malaysia)

Bought it today after falling in love with it early this year when it was launched. When I first listened into it using hi-res DSEE-HX settingon my Xperia Z5 Premium, I said WOW and realized how much my ears had been "cheated" all these decades. That's nothing quite like it. Simply phenomenal! Punchy bass, clear mids & unhurried, balanced treble. Priced RM1,299 then was way beyond my budget. But since longing for it over last 6 months, I just couldn't help today when I found out this morning its price has dropped to RM999.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound

MDR-1AM2/SQ E 10 November 2018 by Dolh (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound, especially for classical musics. If u like heavy bass, this might not suitable for u

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Lightest, greatest sounding headphones

MDR-1AM2/SQ E 31 October 2018 by Sonorous12345 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony 1a series has always been legendary among audiophiles, known for it extensive bass and sweet midrange, the only cons of previous model is the lack of shine in the treble, This new model, they are PERFECT, the treble is clearer and more shine in the cymbals, hi-hats the midrange stay sweet and the bass remain powerful. This is how a good headphones should perform !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

great headphone

MDR-1AM2/BQ E 17 July 2018 by ultimate bang (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

superb sound quality lightweight p/s: if u can afford another rm300...the wh-1000xm2 is a better choice for the price in my opinion

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

Better soundstage and clarity

MDR-1AM2 22 April 2018  (Malaysia)

Excellent match with ZX300. If upgrade the stock cable to Kimber Kable, sound stage improved and better clarity. You can listen to details which you never heard before.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1