FE 50MM F1.8

Product Reviews

RM 1,229.00

38

3.8 based on 38 customer reviews

12
13
9
3
1
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

38 Customer Reviews

0

Compact and nice

SEL50F18F//CSYX 19 September 2019 by Amanson25 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago, and I hope this will be my favorite lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

The Best All Round Lens for Full Frame Sony Camera

SEL50F18F//CSYX 19 August 2019  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this and paired with my new A7III. Perform superbly. Fast, Tack sharp, no worries of backfocusing. Color might be slightly off compared to Canon, but post process able to do correction, as well as fringing, got a bit, but correctable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good quality and great bokeh

SEL50F18F//CSYX 23 July 2019 by Vijendra (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a very small and good lens for Video.. I love using it for its nice bokeh and light weight. Ive been using it for most of my wedding shoot. The video attached mostly shot with Sony 50mm lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good price but not the best

SEL50F18F//CSYX 21 July 2019 by johnkxq (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this last month and took it on my trip to Italy. The price was decent and the images are sharp however the autofocus is sometimes slow. While trying to find focus (even in well lit environments) it is quite slow, sometimes even taking about 5 seconds to focus

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Light and small

SEL50F18F//CSYX 11 June 2019 by Azrahmd (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Light and small but yet great for potrait lens. Good for travelling and great for beginners

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent

SEL50F18F//CSYX 09 May 2019 by DanielOoi (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

The photo quality is over my expectation compare to other camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony FE 50mm F1.8 Review

SEL50F18F//CSYX 07 May 2019 by Salty Egg (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharpness and colour rendition is quite good for the price. Bokeh produced are surprisingly smooth and beautiful. Quite unique in my opinion. Distortion is my biggest issue with this lens. Compared to other brands' 50mm 1.8, the performance of this lens is a bit disappointing because of the distortion.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cool basic lense to start with!

SEL50F18F//CSYX 29 April 2019  (Malaysia)

Lense speed: quite ok acceptable Lense build: very plastic but still OK Aperture at 1.8: very good Overall, so far so good!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great build

SEL50F18F//CSYX 29 April 2019 by Mmaw3 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used now for a month and it holds up nicely. Great feel on the hands and has a good weight

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL50F18F//CSYX 19 April 2019 by Hadi Hafidz (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have own this lens last month and happy with the result from this lens. Worth the money. But there some slow in focusing.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A Superb Nifty Fifty The Sony FE 50mm F1.8!

SEL50F18F//CSYX 13 April 2019 by bobds78 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

This should be a compulsory lens in everyone's bag. Small in size but very very sharp lens with a bright f1.8 aperture. Although the AF speed isn't something to brag about however it's sufficient, nah it isn't fast but just sufficiently on point. A mark II version with a much improved AF Speed is most welcome and should have been released long ago or a new firmware update to that effect will surely make a lot of Sony users very happy. It's lightweight and it's small size means it can be packed in just about any bag easily and it won't take up much space. Lens built quality is acceptable considering this lens might be the cheapest lens in Sony's FF E-mount lens line-up. Very happy with the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Budget price with good image quality

SEL50F18F//CSYX 11 April 2019  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is really a good budget lens for starter without compromising the image quality and focusing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Protrait pics are awesome

SEL50F18F//CSYX 25 March 2019 by Ooks (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

As i used it for taking pics of my family . Ghe pics are really sharp and awesome

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Light and compact

SEL50F18F//CSYX 24 March 2019 by Ninja Scroll (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a few weeks ago and just tried it yesterday. The lens is pretty sharp from F4 onwards with very good contrast. The lens is quite light because it is mainly made of plastic. Having said that, there are other 50 mm F1.8 lens that are cheaper than the Sony. I should know because I also own Canon system. I bought the Sony instead of the Canon because some technical reviews show it is sharper than the Canon. Overall I am happy with the lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing Lens.

SEL50F18F//CSYX 25 February 2019 by Andrialis (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is my new buddy that I'll bring all the time with me because of the light weight and easy to handle.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Focus Hunting

SEL50F18F//CSYX 21 February 2019 by CK2705 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

The lens is not suitable for older camera like A7s, focus hunting at low light. Regrated

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL50F18F//CSYX 15 February 2019 by SafuanPhotography (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Working great, very satisfied with it. It very useful to me as potraiture photographer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ok, nothing special

SEL50F18F//CSYX 22 December 2018 by Lawlern (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens not too long ago because the 50mm f1.8 should be in every photographer's kit. Got this because this is the lowest pricing among the 55mm f1.8 and 50mm f1.4. Unfortunately, after using it for a few days, i found the autofocus way too long. Sadly, much slower than Canon's cheap version. Image quality was not very sharp in the middle as well.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great budget portrait lens

SEL50F18F//CSYX 26 October 2018 by black tan cheng hao (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

shoot some event with my a7iii, it perform well on photo and video

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best budget lens

SEL50F18F//CSYX 15 October 2018  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using this lens for a month now, performance wise the lens is up to my expectation. Render sharp photo and accurate focus most of the time. One downside is the lens is a tad slower compared to other. However, i still would recommend this to others as an alternative to cheaper FE lenses.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good sharpness, poor focusing speed

SEL50F18F//CSYX 29 September 2018 by I am noone (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharpness & DOF both great, but focusing speed is way too slow especially under low light condition, chromatic aberration is serious. It's good enough for beginner since it's low budget lens

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

AutoFocus is slow

SEL50F18F//CSYX 15 September 2018 by smlwoon (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this item a few weeks ago. As for the optical performance, is great! As for the AutoFocus is slow.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value for the price

SEL50F18F//CSYX 25 August 2018 by donjuanmcoolit (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as my first prime for the a7 system. Apart from the slow af, everything else works fine.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Simply bokehlicious.

SEL50F18F//CSYX 22 June 2018 by vinceloke (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

The perfect lens for both work and travel. Small but powerful. Stunning bokeh ! Definitely a must have lens !

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My experience of sony product

SEL50F18F//CSYX 01 June 2018 by Syaqir (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month a go and im so happy with sony product quality, a photo take by my sony a7ii very sharp n the color very nice, im speechless when im first time use sony product because i never get better experience then other product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nifty Fifty

SEL50F18F//CSYX 28 May 2018 by Debaziz (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was the first lens I bought for sony a7iii, this lens at the cheap price performs beyond any other cheaper nifty fifty out there. Its a bang for the buck!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great output for a reasonable price camera, but..

SEL50F18F//CSYX 16 May 2018 by mhdqbl (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall the lens give a great result, but quite frustrating with the AF hunting, especially in a low light condition. Miss a lot of moment forcing me to go for MF sometime. Overall, it is a good lens for the price range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great starter lens!

SEL50F18F 17 April 2018 by fatmosthegreat (Malaysia)

This lens is great for Bokeh and I mainly use it for street photography. Great lens to learn manual focus from.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

The Ring Wedding

SEL50F18F//CSYX 29 March 2018 by Faliq (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony a7ii + Fe 50mm + Adapter. The best for my photo

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens, focusing an absolute headache.

SEL50F18F//CSYX 01 February 2018 by Nehemiah (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Many lenses in this price range focus better than this! Step up your game Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the simplicity

SEL50F18F//CSYX 23 July 2017  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using the lens for a month and i gotta say that the image quality is not that bad despite all the reviews mentioned online. Best starter lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A decent lens

SEL50F18F//CSYX 12 November 2016 by GaveMeSomePaws (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a lightweight lens that takes pretty neat images

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Value for money!

SEL50F18F//CSYX 01 November 2016 by ptan218 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am surprised with the price of this lens. No doubt the barrel is made of plastics, it's made with quality. The sharpness of the images taken is almost as good as those expensive alternatives. I wish that Sony would come out with more cheaper alternatives to some of the other popular lenses such as 24-70/f2.8 etc Highly recommended for your first full frame lens on the A7 series of cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

FE 50mm F1.8

SEL50F18F//CSYX 27 October 2016 by angprofessor (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my A7s and I was surprised with how great the depth of field and color are. Great to include with your travel kit. However the autofocus is quite loud and slow.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Slow and low focus accuracy

SEL50F18F//CSYX 20 August 2016  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Takes alot of time on focus hunting. Which waste time and missed the important moment when do shooting

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Nice bokeh

SEL50F18F//CSYX 20 August 2016 by Tawfiq (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the bokeh and the Sharpness when mount into a7 body. But a lil bit slow on focusing.for the price its affordable

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

FE 50mm F1.8

SEL50F18F//CSYX 03 August 2016 by CCXX (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a sharp lens but need to use Manual Mode for shooting to get good result. Not comparable to zeiss lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great lens, but....

SEL50F18F//CSYX 01 August 2016 by Senser (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this little lens 2 months ago, happy with the performance. Only down side it is noisy and slower AF in low light than my 28mm f2, hope a firmware update can improve AF speed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0