Skip to Content

Starting at

RM 899.00

(MYR Inc. GST)
25

4.0 based on 25 customer reviews

8
11
5
1
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Nice product design

16GB 21 March 2017 by Terry89 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the build quality and button, only problem is the touch screen not sensitive as my mind, sometime will no response. Otherwise, sound quality and equalize function all really good for me.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

It Could've Been Perfect

16GB 25 February 2017 by ciray525 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought mine earlier this month (Feb 2017). Good Job: It is beautifully designed and light-weight. Love the fact that you can expand it's memory with a micro SD card, which is one of the main reasons I bought it. Fun fact - it works with my Scan Disk 200gb micro SD card! The user interface is rather easy to use. Just drag and drop your music like it's a thumbdrive. The physical buttons on the sides are a good touch, especially when the touchscreen is not the most responsive. Needs Improvement: The touchscreen, by today's standards in a smartphone world, is disappointing. It is not the most responsive screen, where there is a 1 second lag or I had to touch it a couple of times before it registers my touch. Can be rather frustrating. I hope this is an issue with the software and not the hardware. I'm using the Plantronics Backbeat Fit bluetooth earphones to listen to my music and I occasionally do experience a drop in signal. And speaking of bluetooth, it would be nice if the shortcut was on the home screen, instead of being in the 'Settings' (which makes it not much of a short cut since the bluetooth option is found in the 'Settings'. This is the reason why my screen is perpetually in the settings. It takes unbearable long for it to read my micro SD card each time I turn it on, which is why I now don't turn it off. Overall: It could've been the perfect mp3 player if the user experience was much smoother.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

25 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Awesome Music Player

32GB with headphone 12 November 2017 by Kim090427 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great quality of sound, but not so friendly in some feature, example add / remove songs. It is awesome if Sony centre selling some accessories like cover and screen protector

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound quality, sturdy yet light

16GB 15 October 2017 by joelismyhero (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

My previous Walkman of 7 years stopped working and I went to the nearest store to get a glimpse of the recent Walkmans and NW-A35 was the first thing that caught my attention. The sleek design of it is rather appealing in my opinion, and the sound quality is much better compared to NW-A25. The bass is clear and the sound is overwhelming. It fits my hand perfectly and it feels sturdy without feeling too heavy. It’s very compact and portable and it fits perfectly into your pocket. I am a little disappointed that you can’t transfer songs via bluetooth like NW-A25 and that you can’t customize your wallpaper like old Walkmans do. But overall, it’s a recommended music player if you are quite an audiophile.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Almost perfect, but it's not there yet

16GB 29 September 2017 by Drakenac (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought mine a couple of weeks back. Upon opening the box, i am very impressed with the built quality and the looks of it. Battery life is superb. However, there are a couple of features that is quite annoying. The cable that is used to charge / transfer songs are sony's proprietary cable. At this day and age, it's really a hassle to have an extra unique cable just for this MP3 player. Sony should have just made it compatible with a micro usb or usb type c. The UI is clean, and is quite user friendly, but it really needs some form of upgrade. Tactile response is laggy and not punchy. Sometimes it doesn't even register your touch and requires multiple press on the screen for it to work. I know this is made purely for MP3 but it wont do any harm to give it the ability to play videos too since the storage is upgradable to 128gb using microSD card. For the price we pay, Sony shouldn't have limited the function of this product to just listening to music. This could be more than what it already is and I hope Sony will unleash its hidden potential.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good DAP

16GB 21 August 2017 by CrackCruck (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's good for listening music and have great feature.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound quality, but...

16GB 25 July 2017 by CJCJ (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Yes, I am enjoying the great sound quality of this product. The colour is nice too. It is easy to use. The SenseMe option is interesting! Only minus point is it takes too long to startup.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Hi fi system in your pocket..

16GB 13 July 2017 by Tenglau (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got this hi res audio Walkman from Sony Somerset .and never regret as I was skeptical how good can MP3 sound goes.well listening to DSD.flac files rip from my CD is entirely different story.sound from this Walkman give very wide sound stage.deeper bass and clear positive of musical instruments...a good start for anyone want to try out hi res audio get this entry level Walkman.your ears will thank u .u will think of what am I listening all this years.streaming and MP3 ? I had miss out so much in true hi fidelity in music technology inprovement..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A36 Walkman

32GB with headphone 25 June 2017 by Yoong (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to operate . Perfect support high definition sound format.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SONY NW-35A

16GB 12 June 2017 by defbee (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

SONY NW-35A Walkman gives crisp sound especially Hi-Res music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great, could have been awesome

32GB with headphone 29 May 2017 by Michaelsabd (Singapore)

For what the product is meant to do, it does it well. Very disappointed it does not play video.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

compact music player on the go

32GB with headphone 13 May 2017 by Juz_talkin (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Loved the compact size and the matching earpiece. The Colours are great and makes it so stylish to carry. The sound is great too, strong base and clear HD quality. Def a worthy buy

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

I like it!

16GB 09 May 2017 by EDfrenz (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the overall performance. I would prefer the folders will be shown as folders instead of songs listed out in accordance to folders.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sounds Awesome!!!

16GB 02 May 2017 by myslip91 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used to own the sony walkman MP3 player. Glad I made this upgrade. Its worth the money. Even normal MP3 320kbps sounds so good. I am satisfied with the sound that this product can give my eardrums (given you own a decent pair of earphone/headphone), never tried with a cheap earphone. The only negative remark that i can point is the design, which seems like it is designed for left hand users. With a bit of practice I am able to maneuver my left fingers easily to reach the buttons on this music player.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

NW-A35

16GB 22 April 2017 by Skyie (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

always use sony mp3 players but for this model ..so disappointed ....time display on front display screen is lacking. Time display on mp3 is important to me to keep track of how long ive been listening

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good integration with Sony mini hifi

16GB 21 April 2017 by Tan YK (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great NFC feature allows easy connected to play songs on Sony hifi system. But cannot create playlist directly on walkman.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Suitable for high audio quality and specific user

16GB 29 March 2017 by ZachCJH (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have bought this Walkman for less than 1 month and it is very simple to use. I was hoping it can have more functions such as creating play list within the Walkman itself and has a inbuilt speaker. That would be a plus point for this Walkman.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice product design

16GB 21 March 2017 by Terry89 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the build quality and button, only problem is the touch screen not sensitive as my mind, sometime will no response. Otherwise, sound quality and equalize function all really good for me.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Nice sound

16GB 06 March 2017 by Neko13 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Happy with the sound quality but a bit disappointed with the fact that most of my songs are not analysed in sense me channel even though I try to do so as I kept connecting it with my pc a dozen times.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It Could've Been Perfect

16GB 25 February 2017 by ciray525 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought mine earlier this month (Feb 2017). Good Job: It is beautifully designed and light-weight. Love the fact that you can expand it's memory with a micro SD card, which is one of the main reasons I bought it. Fun fact - it works with my Scan Disk 200gb micro SD card! The user interface is rather easy to use. Just drag and drop your music like it's a thumbdrive. The physical buttons on the sides are a good touch, especially when the touchscreen is not the most responsive. Needs Improvement: The touchscreen, by today's standards in a smartphone world, is disappointing. It is not the most responsive screen, where there is a 1 second lag or I had to touch it a couple of times before it registers my touch. Can be rather frustrating. I hope this is an issue with the software and not the hardware. I'm using the Plantronics Backbeat Fit bluetooth earphones to listen to my music and I occasionally do experience a drop in signal. And speaking of bluetooth, it would be nice if the shortcut was on the home screen, instead of being in the 'Settings' (which makes it not much of a short cut since the bluetooth option is found in the 'Settings'. This is the reason why my screen is perpetually in the settings. It takes unbearable long for it to read my micro SD card each time I turn it on, which is why I now don't turn it off. Overall: It could've been the perfect mp3 player if the user experience was much smoother.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Easy to use and good quality

16GB 22 February 2017 by sher88 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been hunting for a good mp3/mp4 for a couple of years and when I saw this in store, I bought it the next day. Why? It looks good, feels good, and super easy to use! Plus, there even a built in radio. The other models of Walkman didn't look or feel nice and they were really expensive too. Very happy with my purchase :) Just wish that I could find a screen protector as there is always fingerprints on the screen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound Excellent !!!

32GB with headphone 24 January 2017 by fwsoon (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is all great. Small, light but with excellent sound, especially love the built-in noise cancelling function, and with Radio. Very easy to use and easy to load songs. Really Portable and Enjoy having it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony NW-A36 Walkman review

32GB with headphone 03 January 2017 by sarion (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this over Christmas so that I can store my digitized lossless CD versions. glad that it can read both ALAC and FLAC, as this means I can port over from my Ipod and also allows the music to be used on my Xperia Z5 as well. good value for money too as the package includes the noise cancellation earphones. Waiting for my 128GB SD card to complete the package...

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

Awesome sound awesome design!

16GB 02 January 2017 by Soupysnax (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony has outdone themselves again. Really loving the quality of the hardware and the audio it produces!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

More improvements needed on the product

16GB 01 January 2017 by polyho (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought 1 month ago. Rating 1.5/5. Firmware definitely need to improvise. Positive 1) within cheap budget for traveling on plane use 2) music handling is OK only Negative 1) cheap aluminum. Drop at waist level and got dented already. Sony SHOULD provide rubber protector cover free 2) user interface is lousy especially turining on and off Bluetooth. It's should be at main page instead of going setting and further into the sub manual 3) player cannot auto shut down even no activity. It only turn off. Battery drainage resulted. 4) scanning of music and database take 3-5 min for 128 half loaded micro sd card.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

15

0

Good features and sound - Value for money

16GB 26 December 2016 by Kelvinator (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and is happy with my purchase. Good value for the price that I have paid for the unit.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

Nice device

32GB with headphone 17 December 2016 by destro (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great battery. Better driver force then I expected. Very nice touching. Also happy to see the control buttons are kept. But there is a minor bug of the original version firmware: play an album and shut down, after restart, the next album will be played after finishing playing current album. It seems one of the variables keeping play mode will be reset once shut down. The issue above is not a big deal, a good music player overall.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

4